PDA

View Full Version : Newb here: Help please

redbaron303
01-18-2004, 06:01 PM
My search didn't turn up the information I was looking for, here or on google....

I'm looking for good resources to do some research on purchasing a sport bike....

I want something that isn't too old, prob. 1995+ and something by Yamaha, Kawasaki, or Honda.

I thought about a new bike, but I can't justify the cost to buy something that expensive for never having rode a bike before.... I was looking along the lines of the Ninja ZX6R (636) or the R6.... Basically I want to know what is comparible to those new models but from a couple years ago or so, I want to know where I can find information about common problems and things to look for when buying a bike....

I'm a noob to this whole scene and don't really know too much so I don't want to be picking up someone elses problems but at the same time I don't want to spend the huge money on a new bike for my first one.

Any help with this is appreciated, thanks in advance.

YCB
01-18-2004, 08:10 PM
there are a few biker guys and 1 girl haha, here they will know what to do..

p3nnywi5dom
01-18-2004, 08:51 PM
If no one gives you enough info here, try posting this at www.groundpilots.com

redbaron303
01-18-2004, 09:24 PM
Thanks guys.

RiCE-DaDDy
01-18-2004, 11:47 PM
heres a guide to buy a used bike

http://www.clarity.net/~adam/buying-bike.html

bol
01-19-2004, 01:23 AM
Originally posted by RiCE-DaDDy
heres a guide to buy a used bike

http://www.clarity.net/~adam/buying-bike.html

that is THE used bike guide

but the best advice is still to have somebody knowledgable come along with you when checking out bikes. There are a lot of small things that someone with motorcycle experience would be able to notice that you would miss.

redbaron303
01-19-2004, 01:33 AM
THat's what I figured too....

I'm going to have some friends come with me (experienced riders) who are helping me get into this.... as I said don't want someone elses problems...