PDA

View Full Version : What to look for when buying used trailer?

project240
06-30-2011, 05:10 PM
Just looking for some advice if there is anything I should be watching for specifically when going to check out a used trailer. I've never owned one before, but have an appt to check out a tandem 10ft utility trailer tomorrow morning.

I'm a complete newb when it comes to trailers, so any advice will probably be helpful.

Thanks in advance!!

sxtasy
06-30-2011, 05:51 PM
what do you want to haul? What is your tow vehicle?

ExtraSlow
06-30-2011, 07:06 PM
Having bought a trailer this spring, I now know that you should check the wear pattern on the tires, on ALL the tires. That shows you if the alignment is off. Also, check for dry rot on the tires. Since most trailers sit a lot, tires tend to rot out from UV before the tread is gone.

Standens can help you out with brakes/bearings/electrical/suspension etc. Those guys are excellent.

project240
06-30-2011, 11:02 PM
Originally posted by sxtasy
what do you want to haul? What is your tow vehicle?

Mostly lumber/sheet goods, but want to be able to haul mulch, firewood, etc.

I know I don't need a tandem axle, but the price is very good. My vehicle is rated for about 6000lbs towing, which minus trailer weight leaves me able to haul maybe 4-4500lbs, but truthfully probably won't be near that anytime in the distant future.

ddduke
07-01-2011, 12:29 AM
Having bought quite a few trailers I'd say check the electrical. It's a huge PITA trying to find where the wire is corroded/torn/etc when one of your lights wont work.

J-hop
07-01-2011, 01:55 AM