PDA

View Full Version : Golf Clubs?

Feruk
07-04-2011, 01:45 PM
Hey guys, I've just started playing golf and am interested in getting a set of clubs instead of constantly renting. Any advice as to what brand name of clubs I should be looking for?

I don't wanna blow a lot of cash for a beginner set. Kijiji's got ads up for Men's "Jazz Applause Graphite clubs", "Northwester", and something called "Daiwa." Would you recommend any of these for a newbie? I'm about 5'11 190lb and can hit quite hard if that helps.

schocker
07-04-2011, 01:50 PM
I suppose it would depend on preference. I used to have northwestern clubs, were nothing great but got the job done when I was a beginner, had graphite shafts and all that but now I golf with steel nikes and need to pick up a couple other clubs to supplement my set. Maybe look somewhere like golftown to get an idea of what there is available, but probably for used stuff look for a complete set with bag, driver, woods, irons, putter etc so that you get everything at once and can practice with that. Jazz though for example is a decent brand.

colinxx235
07-04-2011, 01:59 PM
Feruk,

Definitely hit up golf town, they had some great deals the last weekend. Very often you can pick up names such as Jazz, Mizuno, Ram, Top Flite, Founders, Wilsons and a couple others that include 1,3,5 woods. 3iron - PW, putter plus a bag for < 200~250. Definitely do NOT purchase graphites if you swing with any sort of pace, (I personally feel like its hitting with a whip).

I had bought a set of top flites to do me in for a season or two when I jumped from juniors. Then I bought some Burner 1.0 steels to take a jump up. But it comes at a large price.