PDA

View Full Version : LF Roughneck / MWD Job

pr0blematic
07-05-2011, 04:23 PM
I've got no Rig experience, but I'm looking for a roughnecking or MWD job in Alberta for this following year.

I've got a lot of close relatives and friends in the field, and the consensus seems to be that in most cases smaller companies pay more (I saw the thread about Big vs. Small O&G companies), so I'd preferably be looking into applying at smaller companies.

I've got my first aid, and am signing up to get my H2S and PST this month.

If anyone is / knows of people who are hiring, or just has any input or advice, please PM me or reply here.

Thanks in advance!

Aerobat
07-05-2011, 05:31 PM
Might be hard right now, things are just firing up for experienced hands

badatusrnames
07-05-2011, 05:50 PM
Packers Plus sounded like they were pretty busy and looking for people:

http://packersplus.com/careers/canada.php

kdwebber
07-05-2011, 08:05 PM
Originally posted by Aerobat
Might be hard right now, things are just firing up for experienced hands

that is so far from the truth that it is not even funny

kdwebber
07-05-2011, 08:07 PM
every rig I work on I see green hard hats.... guess what that means?

take a bunch of your resumes and your certificates up to Nisku and you will get hired on guaranteed

pr0blematic
07-05-2011, 08:10 PM
Most of what I've been hearing from people is that come August / September, companies will be hiring a lot more for on-site rig jobs.

That's not an issue, I've got a great job here in Calgary that I have no problem staying with until then.

Just kind of getting the feelers out early.

thager
07-05-2011, 09:31 PM
Originally posted by kdwebber

that is so far from the truth that it is not even funny
i agree, one ph call and ill be roughneckin again and im not experenced i have about 8 months rig exp, i just know what to and not to do and the slang on a rig.

ExtraSlow
07-05-2011, 10:27 PM
Yep, you should have no trouble getting on.