PDA

View Full Version : What would you guys do?

epp01
07-26-2011, 11:47 AM
K need some wisdom from some of the older members on here. I have a cross roads right now and I'm not sure what direction to take.

I'm 21, I have my 2 years AST degree at SAIT, didn't like working on cars because it was ruining my hobby. I have 5 years of parts experience but have been working auto parts for this large cooperation for about a year. I'll be completely honest with my pay. I make 19.25 currently right now, because I've been so aggressive with my boss and pay raises I have basically maxed out what a parts guy can make here. Unless I went into being a salesmen or into management (from what I've been told management is a ton of bullshit but pretty good money.)

This is all fine, here's the kicker. I currently have 30 grand saved up for a house, and I can't qualify for a mortgage because my income isn't high enough. I want a 250,000 town house realistically. I've told my manager this and he says he wants to keep me with this company and he offered me assistant manager as soon as the current one leaves or quits. But he's been with the company for 25 years and it's probably going to be 10 or so plus years left lol.

I got a job offer with a new company and they're offering me 25 bucks an hour just to start and he said the experienced guys make 30-40 bucks an hour. I'm not sure the advancement with this company though.

My question is, do I stick it out and keep living at home till I save like 100,000 or hope to get a promotion, so what I know eventually 5-10 years will be good money, or do I jump ship and leave a job I know has good advancement just because the pay right off the bat is so much higher?

Interview is tomorrow.. I have no idea what to do.

HiTempguy1
07-26-2011, 11:59 AM
Originally posted by epp01

Interview is tomorrow.. I have no idea what to do.