PDA

View Full Version : Bodybuilding vs Powerlifting vs hybrid

scboss
08-24-2011, 10:15 PM
How do you guys train and why? Currently im doing a olympic lifting program and loving it. Losing a bit of size tho.

scboss
08-29-2011, 12:49 AM
Im curious to why alot of you guys train. It seem alot of my clients either train for looks or health.

I try to train all aspects to give me great core strength and endurance

Darkane
08-29-2011, 11:58 AM
When I started training I trained to be strong.

Now I hybrid. I add the strength portion base, followed by hypertrophy.

Olympic lifts are added in succession.

I basically follow Thibaudeau's Work T-Nation.

wintonyk
08-29-2011, 12:06 PM
Like Darkane i started with strength and size. I used to weigh 135. I managed to get up to 190. But i wasn't comfortable there nor did i find it highly functional for myself.

I work in the health industry so part of my reasons for working out is to maintain my health. But i also work in another job where I must maintain my body. Although it does have to be slim and ripped.

I have taken the summer away from the gym (only going 1x week) and just hiking (1-2x 6 hours/week), hockey (2-3x), and running (2x 10k)

A790
08-29-2011, 01:05 PM
I'm trying my first-ever specialization routine. Of course, hitting the arms.

Running 3 x 8 in all my core lifts to maintain what I built there, then higher rep schemes for accessories (3 x 10 or 4 x 6).

Promising so far.

KRyn
08-29-2011, 01:09 PM
Powerlifting and Olympic lifting. I gave up training for size, my genetics just don't allow me to get jacked. I don't mind putting all the curl/bench guys that look strong to shame with my 12" guns.

cet
08-29-2011, 01:10 PM
I was training for both size and strength as well, but not at the same time. I would do a stength routine for a while then a hypertorphy routine.

Starting next week i'm going to try Layne Norton's Power/Hypertrophy routine to see if I like it and the results.

scboss
08-29-2011, 09:23 PM