PDA

View Full Version : Driving laws affect what car you will buy?

max_boost
09-07-2011, 11:56 AM
Serious question lol

Chatting with friends and my case is simple, slower car, you drive slower, period. Faster car, you drive faster. What's the point of having a faster car if you are never going to push it? No I'm not advocating always speeding so let's use good judgment here. There's a time and place for things. Owning a 400hp vehicle and getting it impounded for going 140kms on the highway? That's BC right? 40 over and it's game over? I don't know about you guys but I've driven 400hp cars and at 140, it feels like nothing.

I usually get a speeding ticket once every two years and it's usually the 30-40 over variety. I'm a fairly tame driver but I'll lay it down occasionally and I will only accelerate when I can see a clear road ahead, divided highway, cars in a far distance and only for short spurts. Yea I also do understand that going 40 over, I can lose control, flip my car, crash into a school bus full of kids and burn down a farm. Yes that could happen. :nut:

I drive a lot, 40k in the past year so losing my license is not an option. Getting fined and demerits, that's OK haha

Anyone else in my line of thinking? I'm looking for a 3rd car and I'm strongly considering a 140hp Subaru Impreza, 0-60 in 9.8 seconds, perfect.

hurrdurr
09-07-2011, 12:00 PM
That's why you have an NSX, it only looks fast :devil:

Sugarphreak
09-07-2011, 12:11 PM

max_boost
09-07-2011, 12:15 PM
My GTI feels faster than the NSX. :rofl: :burnout:

heavyD
09-07-2011, 12:18 PM
I hate city supplemental taxes as much as anyone but it will be a cold day in hell before I let those greedy scumbags determine what car I can drive. Every car has to be faster than the last for me.:thumbsup:

Kennyredline
09-07-2011, 12:25 PM
Maybe one day, the laws will dictate HOW people drive what they have as opposed to WHAT they drive.

max_boost
09-07-2011, 12:34 PM