PDA

View Full Version : Hypermiling: What do you guys think?

Green Eggs And Sam
10-08-2011, 10:31 AM
I am a reporter and photographer for The Calgary Journal. I want to write a story about hypermiling, and I am in need of some car-enthusiast's opinions.

Love it?

Hate it?

Is is safe or worth it?

Let me know!

Modelexis
10-08-2011, 10:41 AM
No real car-enthusiast is going to do this.

Unless you're constantly falling asleep driving on the deerfoot and need something to keep your mind occupied.

It has no practical significance.

Kardon
10-08-2011, 10:44 AM
Go ride a bike.

max_boost
10-08-2011, 10:49 AM
This would apply.

SfKTDMEoC88

Modelexis
10-08-2011, 10:57 AM
I've made this comparison before but I think it's true so I'll repeat myself:

Why don't you post up on an athletic forum asking if what the members think about the practice of exerting the least amount of energy needed to get through the day and burn the least amount of calories, because food costs money.

Ask a few marathon runners if they've ever considered taking a bike one day a week to save energy and food costs.

kvg
10-08-2011, 11:06 AM
If people on here cared they would not be driving card with high performance modifications, they would have a Prius or a leaf. :dunno: Personally I don't want do do shit like this to my car.

http://cruisenews.net/whacked/versa/April%2014%202009/2.jpg

I'd rather walk or catch the bus, than try to drive this with a ski mask and attempt not be recognized. :barf:

Good luck though:dunno:

ExtraSlow
10-08-2011, 11:11 AM
Hypermiling is interesting for a very small number of nerds. As mentioned, it's not something that is useful for the vast majority.

Kardon
10-08-2011, 11:21 AM
Originally posted by kvg
If people on here cared they would not be driving card with high performance modifications, they would have a Prius or a leaf. :dunno: Personally I don't want do do shit like this to my car.

http://cruisenews.net/whacked/versa/April%2014%202009/2.jpg