PDA

View Full Version : Paypal

RSeXy
01-25-2004, 11:14 PM
I am new to ebay. Therefore I am new to Paypal. Can you please help me with how it works? What are the possible risks? Thanks.

I know there are some HC ebayers here :)

YCB
01-25-2004, 11:15 PM
i think pay pal is fairly safe, just don't respond to those fake emails they send u

Forcefed
01-25-2004, 11:18 PM
Pay-pal is prolly the most used system to transfer money for goods bought over the net. I've been a user for 4 years and havent had a problem. I mean it has its risks just be smart and you'll be fine

RSeXy
01-25-2004, 11:19 PM
Well I have a buyer that lives in the States...but it is for a fairly substantial amount of money. (approx 1700USD) Is this worth the risk?? :confused: :dunno:

YCB
01-25-2004, 11:23 PM
a buyer?? buying something from u?

RSeXy
01-25-2004, 11:24 PM
Yes, she is interested in a purse that I have. If it was for like 60 bucks I wouldn't be as nervous....

Ekliptix
01-25-2004, 11:26 PM
I just signed up for using Ebay as well.
I'm waiting to have some funds transfered from my bank account into the Paypal account.

I'll report back when something happens

benyl
01-25-2004, 11:28 PM
well, the risk is that they can say that the product never arrived and paypal will reverse the funds.

Go with Bidpay. They send you a check and the buyer pays the fees. Less risk for you. I don't know if Bidpay works in Canada though.

With bidpay, there is no recourse for the buyer. With paypal, the seller isn't as protected... at least that is my understanding.

illeagle
01-25-2004, 11:29 PM
try other routes.. make sure the money is there before shipping out the goods... can you do that?

i've never had a problem with paypal, i used it twice using my Visa, but not from ebay...

FiveFreshFish
01-25-2004, 11:29 PM
Originally posted by RSeXy
Well I have a buyer that lives in the States...but it is for a fairly substantial amount of money. (approx 1700USD) Is this worth the risk?? :confused: :dunno: