PDA

View Full Version : working in the oil sands

VetteRacin
11-15-2011, 10:29 AM
Im just curious, who currently works up in ftmac area from here or has in the past?

Darkane
11-15-2011, 10:48 AM
I do

Ryan Shawcross
11-15-2011, 04:54 PM
I worked up there for years, back in Calgary now, I can answer most questions you might have.

Aerobat
11-15-2011, 07:20 PM
Watch fubar 2

lellowrx7
11-15-2011, 07:38 PM
Originally posted by Aerobat
Watch fubar 2

+1

Pretty much sums it up. Same kinda scenery, people, same lifestyle. Finance your big trucks and house, knock some bitch up and your stuck for life.
Currently on my second year with none of the above though :)

VetteRacin
11-16-2011, 08:48 PM
oh Ive been working up there as well for the last 2 years, that's why I was curious, only in in the mining tire industry.

Redlined_8000
11-16-2011, 09:25 PM
yar.

desi112
11-17-2011, 12:47 PM
how do you get inside the oilsands?

Canmorite
11-17-2011, 02:16 PM
Originally posted by desi112
how do you get inside the oilsands?

A shovel.

brucebanner
11-17-2011, 02:29 PM
Originally posted by Aerobat
Watch fubar 2
:facepalm:

That shows some part of the oil industry, not an accurate showing of the oil industry as a whole though.

Been working in the oil industry for the past 5+ years.

VetteRacin
11-17-2011, 09:30 PM
what mines are yall at?

lauphman
11-17-2011, 09:37 PM
Anyone know if plumbers work on the camp jobs?

Ryan Shawcross
11-17-2011, 10:19 PM
Originally posted by lauphman
Anyone know if plumbers work on the camp jobs?

In the camps, yes, but not on the industrial sites. If you have your fitter certification then you'll have no problem finding a job up north.

lauphman
11-18-2011, 12:02 AM
I have 1 year left to finish plumbing / gasfittimg and was gonna go for pipefitting right after. Was wondering if there's work for what I already have finished? I don't know who to contact, I've emailed and called the 488 union for some info but no one ever gets back to me.