PDA

View Full Version : Ride to Conquer Cancer

Pages : [1] 2

lilmira
11-18-2011, 01:33 PM
Thinking about doing it next year.

Has anyone done it before? How was the experience?

I just started riding not too long ago so I'll definitely need to work on my legs if I decide to do it. I got the info package from them and it looks like a fun thing to do for a good cause.

Artega
11-18-2011, 02:45 PM
Take it from me who went from a couch potato to marathoner in 6 months.
Don't think too much about how difficult it is.
You have to be willing to accept that the training will be difficult but you are doing it for a great cause.

The experience will be awesome if you immerse yourself into how beneficial it is and how many people you are helping.

If you enjoy this event, doing it again. If you didn't, then do another event.
but don't wait on joining such a great cause.

swak
11-18-2011, 05:43 PM
Dont worry about the distance too too much.
Anyone relatively in shape should be able to do this on a bike. Its all mental.

ive never personally done it, but i know they have tons of support for riders during the whole thing.

Definitely go for it!

lilmira
11-18-2011, 08:04 PM
Haha, I'm not too worry about the physical part. I'm no where near a marathon runner but I'm not a couch potato neither. It will take some work for sure and there is a lot of time to get my legs back.

I just don't want to be stuck at a poorly organized event for two days. Most reviews are pretty positive so it sounds like it will be good. Now I just need some people to go with me as a team. Anyone here doing it this year?

megavolt
11-22-2011, 12:09 PM
I signed up last month. Haven't done it before. Someone in my company put together a team.

I cycle to work every day year round (35K round trip) but I've never done any LONG rides. Going to have to train myself in that area in the spring.

I'm 100% sure I can do this, but I'm still psyching myself out.