PDA

View Full Version : Post car accident damages

180drft
11-23-2011, 11:21 AM
So It's been about 5 months since I was in a pretty bad accident and I want to know what I should do about my physical damage to my body. I don't know how to explain but I'll do my best.

Here's what as happened so far:
- Guy ran a red light and T-Boned me. (I have PLPD insurance)
- His insurance pays me $8,000 for my 180sx
- I got an MRI and I have a little spine twist or whatever and subluxation. The X-Ray doesn't show much either. So It's just deep tissue BS so far.
- My insurance adjuster who is covering my physical rehab is calling me every month to try and settle?
- I have been doing physio for about 4 months now and im not getting that much better... (2-3 times per week)

What can I do from here?
- Sue the guy who hit me? (But I settled for the $8000 so does that mean i can't?)
- Can I get a cash settlement from the adjuster for my time/ gas money for all the physio?

Any info would help... Thanks

03ozwhip
11-23-2011, 11:32 AM
suing and taking the pay out for your car are 2 different things, unless you signed something that you settled for that, call a lawyer

Masked Bandit
11-23-2011, 01:02 PM
The first payout is for the car only.

You don't sue the driver, you sue his insurance company. In the end you shouldn't have to actually go all the way to court either. You should probably end up negotiating with the adjuster that keeps calling you.

DO NOT SETTLE on anything until you are either fully recovered or your doctor has advised that this is as good as it gets.

Kloubek
11-23-2011, 01:18 PM
Originally posted by Masked Bandit
DO NOT SETTLE on anything until you are either fully recovered or your doctor has advised that this is as good as it gets.

THIS. Do not settle on what you *anticipate* to be your recovery, since the true timeline may end up entirely different.

ExtraSlow
11-23-2011, 01:34 PM