PDA

View Full Version : Looking to write off work clothing..

Hallowed_point
12-12-2011, 04:23 PM
So this is my first year in business as a contractor. As a contractor, I have spent probably 2 grand or so on clothing (reciepts all saved) for dress shirts, ties etc for work. I am required to wear business attire as per the buildings standards.

How do I write this off come tax time? It seems the CRA website says that you cannot write off clothing which I'm sure is bs :dunno:

Thanks for any tips, prefer to hear from other contractors who have dealt with this and haven't gotten burned by the CRA :D

lint
12-12-2011, 04:32 PM
you can't.

schocker
12-12-2011, 04:38 PM
lol, no you cannot write it off.
See this court case for example:
http://decision.tcc-cci.gc.ca/en/2003/2003tcc482/2003tcc482.html

Guillermo
12-12-2011, 04:39 PM
Originally posted by Hallowed_point
So this is my first year in business as a contractor. As a contractor, I have spent probably 2 grand or so on clothing (reciepts all saved) for dress shirts, ties etc for work. I am required to wear business attire as per the buildings standards.

How do I write this off come tax time? It seems the CRA website says that you cannot write off clothing which I'm sure is bs :dunno:

Thanks for any tips, prefer to hear from other contractors who have dealt with this and haven't gotten burned by the CRA :D

isn't is so unfair that the government makes you pay for your own clothing??? :whipped: :whipped: :whipped:

:rofl:

Hallowed_point
12-12-2011, 05:15 PM
Haha ok I'm not retarded, I don't expect to be able to write off skate shoes and t shirts ...

This is strictly for work clothing ie dress pants, dress shirts stuff that I do not wear outside from work! There must be a way :dunno:

schocker
12-12-2011, 06:00 PM
Haha ok I'm not retarded, I don't expect to be able to write off skate shoes and t shirts ...