PDA

View Full Version : BBA Finance- Newish Grad, Need Advice

importracer
12-15-2011, 01:07 AM
Hi Beyond,

I have been searching through the careers forum looking for answers to life but have been unsuccessful so I thought I would post up a thread.

It's a shame I didn't look through these threads before I enrolled into Post secondary many years ago as some of the information in the older threads could have been beneficial and possibly lead me to not go the route I chose.

I graduated with my BBA in Finance last December and went on vacation etc. When I came back I started applying for many random positions with banks but could not get a job despite already having completed the 4 CFP courses, and the CSC. I decided to apply as a teller to get a foot in the door and ended up getting a job. I worked as a teller for 3 months and it was the worst 3 months of my life. I made less money and worked more hours, than I did at my part-time job while in school. When I saw positions open up in the offices as a Advisor, I applied and landed a job. The pay is slightly better than my part-time job I held before but definitely not career money and not worth wasting 4 years in school to achieve. I understand new grads don't make much money but it seems, like banks cap out pretty low no matter which position you are in. At the same time seems like no one has education and it doesn’t matter as majority of the people just moved up based on experience/seniority.

I have been with the company for approx 5 months now and I hate the fact that what people say about bankers having no soul is true. My question is what do I do? Continue working and get them to pay for my CFP exam? With this I risk still hating my job and not having much opportunity as its seems select a few really make it big with a CFP designation.