PDA

View Full Version : To Transfer or Not To Transfer?

dj_patm
12-21-2011, 09:18 PM
So I'm one semester and two classes plus my directed field studies (basically a required co-op) away from finishing my Applied Bachelor of International Business and Supply Chain Management at MRU. I can transfer into the BBA - General Management if I want to and do an additional 10 courses on top of what I have left, but I don't really think its worth it?

I've already got two years of work experience in my field (well one year of actual experience and then a leave of absence from my job to finish my degree but hey, why be specific ;)) and I'll have even more after I'm done my DFS which is basically another year of experience (Going to keep my options open for that. I can either do it at the job that is giving me the leave, or some where else. A lot of people getting hired into O&G for their DFS which I would prefer over my current job) so I'm thinking that should negate any difference regarding the attractiveness of my resume and whether I have the applied degree or the BBA?

What do you guys think? Is it worth doing the 10 classes for the BBA and losing out on the directed field studies or should I just finish my applied degree, take the experience and go with that?

To me it seems like an obvious decision but maybe you guys have some good input on something I might not realize?

Type_S1
12-21-2011, 09:22 PM
Try to transfer to U of C :dunno:

:goflames:

dj_patm
12-21-2011, 09:29 PM
I could've gotten into UofC originally but there wasn't really any incentive as the program I took at MRU had 100% employment in the field and if I remember correctly the same average starting salaries 1st year out (maybe a little lower but not much) as UofC.

Me being that slacker I am, why work harder for the same end result :D

Type_S1
12-21-2011, 09:40 PM
I'm just kidding around...just had to poke the bear