PDA

View Full Version : New Snowboard Suggestions?

liquid1010
12-27-2011, 01:52 PM
Any suggestions for a new board?

I want a good free-ride all mountain board. I spend most of my time free-riding, and very little time in the park. I want something a little wider (size 10 feet) that's directional - but can be used in a park if needed (med flex).

I've been riding the same Burton Custom since 2001, but am now looking at a Yes - Big City, or a Yes - Basic.

Anyone have any other suggestions on a good board?

HomespunLobster
12-28-2011, 01:06 AM
I'd recommend going out on demo days at hills and trying different boards. That's how I pre-test all my skis and boards before I buy them.

gogreen
01-03-2012, 02:35 PM
I ride a 2009 Burton Supermodel and it sounds like your riding style is very similar to mine. Unfortunately the Supermodel has been discontinued this year, but Burton has a new board called the Barracuda that appears to replace both it and the also-discontinued Malolo.

I ride just about everything including powder, steeps, glades, moguls, chopped-up crud, and groomers, and the Supermodel handles it all (I rarely venture into the park so can't really comment on that aspect). I would say that if the Barracuda is at all similar (and it appears to be intended to fill that niche) then it may be worth checking out. It's directional with a medium flex and the width of the 157 appears sufficient for a size 10 boot.

SOAB
01-03-2012, 02:43 PM
i ride a Lib Tech TRS 158 and i have to say that it's the best board i've ever ridden. handles anything i can throw at it. carves well, can handle fast speeds and light enough to get decent air (not that i'm anything like Travis Rice).

about $650 or so but worth every penny.

austic
01-03-2012, 03:17 PM
Get a custom x, I had a custom for 7 years and replaced it with the X. Great board, really responsive, but you pay for it.

almerick
01-03-2012, 04:13 PM
I really loved my Never Summer board, awesome brand but quite expensive