PDA

View Full Version : Fair Price - 2011 Honda CR-V EX?

djdragan
01-01-2012, 11:03 AM
Happy New Year Guys.

My old car is on its last legs and it is time for a new one. I am considering a 2011 Honda CR-V EX, and this is my first time purchasing a new vehicle.

I visited a dealership in calgary and had them price one out for me Honda is currently offering 0.9% on lease/finance on the 2011's:

to finance over 60 months ($0 down) they are offering payments of about $583.50/mth , based on my calculations that works out to an all-in purchase price of $34,224.

The other options is on a 48 month lease, payments are $405/mth
with a buy-out of $14,800 in 4 years.

I am leaning towards the lease at this point, but am wondering
if this is a fair price? There are no options/add-ons beyond what is standard with the EX trim level. They have also told me that an EX-L (identical but with leather and a premium stereo) would be about $2000 more.

As I said, I have not bought new before, or via a dealership for that matter. Do I have some room to negotiate, or would you typically ask for a discount on accessories (ie car starter/roof rack)?

redline
01-01-2012, 11:56 AM
go to www.carcostcanada.com and get dealer invoice

Sugarphreak
01-01-2012, 01:43 PM

djdragan
01-01-2012, 02:12 PM
Originally posted by Sugarphreak

Fair deal for financing, however you don't want to be leasing last years model.

I am actually in a 24 mo lease with a 2011 CRV as we speak, which expires mid-next year. If I buy-out my total cost will be somewhere around the 36K mark with all taxes included, so 34K sounds about right... (although you will be losing residual value at exactly the same rate I am and I've driven mine for nearly 2 years already).