PDA

View Full Version : Review: Clay Oven

flipstah
01-15-2012, 06:18 PM
Review: Clay Oven

Clay Oven
Bay 349, 3132 – 26 St NE, Calgary, Alberta

Over the weekend I was able to try a new Indian restuarant and so far, it is one of my favorites. I was a rookie in ordering so hopefully, you can learn from my mistakes haha.

Food: 3.5/5

The food was the highlight of my night. We ordered:

- Garlic Nan
- Pea Saffron Rice
- Mushroom Saffron Rice
- Lamb Curry
- Beef Vindaloo
- Prawn Biryani
- Daal Pachrangi (Lentil soup)
- Saag Paneer (Spincach puree)

The nan was soft and delectable; great compliment to the saucy main dishes. The rice was also a great compliment but rather bland by itself.

Out of all of the main dishes, the prawn and the lamb dishes were the highlights! The prawn sauce was delectable, balanced flavor... And the shrimp wasn't overcooked! :D

The lamb was soft and tender with a delicious curry sauce. Would taste better as mild as the heat overpowered the flavor.

The beef vindaloo was just a bowl of pure hurt. The beef slices were dry and all I tasted was pain. Never again.

The veggie dishes I didn't try, as those were ordered by our vegetarian friend.

Ambiance: 2.5/5

The establishment is simplistic, small, and cramped. Best to make reservations. Not a lot of room to move and it seemed like the place wanted to fit as much people as possible.

Service: 3/5

The waiting time for food to come out was long. Possibly because of the amount of food we ordered and perhaps each dish was cooked from scratch. Long wait time and with the cramped space, the food was better be worth it.

And it was. I would definitely come back but next time, I will 'soften' up my order next time haha.

Word of advice: Order mild and one spicy in order to enjoy your night. If it's all same level of spiciness, it'll all start tasting the same and it will suck.