PDA

View Full Version : $1000 budget, suggest a bike

Trinzler
02-01-2012, 09:17 PM
I'm a complete newb when it comes to bikes, I briefly had one from Toys-R-Us when I was a lot younger. I haven't actually ridden a bike in the last decade or so but since work is relocating me closer to my shop I was thinking about getting one. My route is all paved and literally consists of just 2 medium grade hills. What do you guys suggest as a good all around bike that'll last a long time and doesn't require much maintenance ? My budget is $500-$1000.

swak
02-01-2012, 09:56 PM
Check out bowcycle, and Id buy something along the lines of a cross bike if i were you, because then it will still be enough bike to hit Nose Hill hard, and not make your commute balls (like a MTB would).

Also, im a die-hard for Eurotech Cycle (the owners are gone on holidays until Feb 14th though, so the shop is closed until then unfortunately).

EDIT: How tall are you? and whats your inseam? (whats the length of your jeans?) I may have a good bike for you myself (not bike in pic)... PM me if you're interested.

EDIT #2: I built up my commuter from scratch, bought frame, bars, wheels, etc.... Now my bike after that came to quite a bit over $1000 even though its not the prettiest thing, but its built like a beast... But its another option for you to consider. (also PM me if you want to go this route, and i'll give you some pointers)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v646/magishn/IMG_2748.jpg

Good Luck!
Ride Fast!!

msommers
02-01-2012, 10:15 PM
Maybe look into a cyclo-sport since they're a bit more rugged than a conventional road bike and come with more suitable tires.

Pinkbike if you're looking at used, Bow Cycle or Pedalhead for new.

Trinzler
02-02-2012, 12:21 AM