PDA

View Full Version : Tried hot yoga for the first time - dizzy

Ekliptix
02-18-2012, 12:00 PM
I tried hot yoga this morning. I've never done any yoga before. After 10-15 minutes, I felt light headed and my face was tingly. I sat down, expecting to recover, but it got worse. After about 10 minutes of sitting and the tinglyness extending down my arms and chest, I left the room. I couldn't control the muscles in my face, so when I spoke with an employee at reception I couldn't form my mouth normally.

Within 1 minute of being outside the hot room, I started to feel better but there was still tingles 15 minutes after being outside the hot room.

I'm in good shape (run 20km/week) and 31 yrs old. 45min before yoga, I had 500mL of gatoraid and a power bar. I've only ever felt some tinglyness if I run too hard, so I slow my pace and it goes away. With yoga this morning, it kept getting more intense.

I'm going back tomorrow to try again. Any ideas to help prevent the dizzyness?

Thanks, and yes there were many hotties there. That's 3/4 of the reason I'm there. :)

RickDaTuner
02-18-2012, 12:11 PM
I think you should see a doctor.

CanmoreOrLess
02-18-2012, 12:13 PM
Nice description of a stroke, get a doctor to check you out ASAP, otherwise get your affairs in order and go to die in a that sweaty room or out running your 20 a week. And yes you can have a partial stroke and get on with your day, the damage is done the longer you linger. Happened to my 16 year old nephew, all-star in four sports so being fit has fuck all to do with it. The yoga centre ought to have recognized your situation and called an ambulance right fucking now. Then again, having an ambulance at the front door of a yoga centre might not be good for business.

From: http://brainfoundation.org.au/a-z-of-disorders/107-stroke#amihavingastroke

Symptoms of Stroke