PDA

View Full Version : Take Over Lease

desmond
03-02-2012, 07:51 AM
It is my first time to have a car. I heard of taking over somenone else's lease can be more affordable. May i know the precautions and what to watch out for?
Thanks

93mr2gt
03-02-2012, 08:57 AM
make sure no damages on car, because when you return it after lease, you are responsible for the reapirs, make sure kms in line with lease contract, or you will be penalized for overage, find out residual of lease and add all the payments up, then you will know how much you are actually buying the car for, sometimes some people put down a security deposit in the beginning, find out if theres any, other than that, i cant think of anything else ATM

bulaian
03-02-2012, 08:58 AM
Make sure you understand the outline of the lease. Payments, km allotment, residual value etc.

TomcoPDR
03-02-2012, 10:21 AM
Originally posted by 93mr2gt
make sure no damages on car, because when you return it after lease, you are responsible for the reapirs, make sure kms in line with lease contract, or you will be penalized for overage, find out residual of lease and add all the payments up, then you will know how much you are actually buying the car for, sometimes some people put down a security deposit in the beginning, find out if theres any, other than that, i cant think of anything else ATM

Lots of good points here...

And to add for OP, make sure it'll be agreed upon what kind of kilometers at HAND-OVER... I have had a case where I took over someone's lease on a truck (he said he was moving from Cgy to Sask)... At the time of viewing, it was 24,000 km (ok so another 15 months, I can do)... BUT by the time the paperwork got done, he drove it till 35,000km... (Didn't tell me anything, etc... so within the 2 weeks of paperwork, he must had made his trips moving to Sask)... What a sneek.