PDA

View Full Version : Auto Obsessed Specialty Detail - Ford GT Heritage Edition



AutoObsessed
03-22-2012, 01:32 PM
For the 2012 Edmonton Motor Show, we at Auto Obsessed were lucky enough to have a very special Ford GT Heritage Edition.

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_5216-Edit.jpg

One of only 200 made, this Ford GT Heritage is a stunning reminder of the truly unique powder orange and blue scheme of the Gulf Racing Team. Luckily for us the vehicle has been very well taken care of and the paint contained only minor defects.

We began our attention with the wheels, these unique wheels contained carbon fibre barrels and coated spokes that required gentle care. P21s Wheel Cleaner was used in conjunction with the soft EZ detail brush to ensure proper cleaning of the inner barrels without the installation of defects on the surface.

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3782_1.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3783_1.jpg

Cleaned:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3783_2.jpg

Next up was the engine bay.

A quick look revealed the work that was going to be required:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3789_1.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3790.jpg

We decided much attention was to be given to the engine bay as the engine cover would be lifted during the Motor Show to showcase the exceptional engineering that has gone under the hood. We opted for P21s Total Auto Wash at a 1:1 dilution to provide a safe get aggressive enough cleaning to remove the grime that has accumulated.
Work began from the bottom up, making sure the lower frame was taken care of before moving upwards:

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3807.jpg

Soft Raceglaze brushes were used on the majority of the engine components:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3798.jpg

The Engine bay was then dried using the Metro Master Blaster at half strength:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3814.jpg

AutoObsessed
03-22-2012, 01:33 PM
Finished:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3814-2.jpg
Notice the lower frame:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3814-1.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3814-3.jpg

On to the wash:

The vehicle was foamed with Chemical Guys Citrus Wash n Gloss to strip any LSP's such as wax or sealant from the vehicle:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3819.jpg

The foam was allowed to dwell for 2 minutes before it was rinsed:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3827.jpg

While the vehicle was being washed using the 2 bucket method and Citrus Wash in Gloss, the exhaust tips were to be taken care of.
Before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3832.jpg

Chemical Guys Grime Reaper was initially used with the Daytona Speed Master brush to remove the carbon build up:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3835.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3836.jpg

Next P21s Polishing Soap followed by P21s Metal Polish was used to bring back shine into the tips:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3841.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3841-1.jpg

Completed:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3841-2.jpg

With the wash completed it was time to prepare the vehicle for paint correction. We began with claying the vehicle using the mild Sonus SFX Ultra-Fine Clay + Sonus Glyde:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3849.jpg

AutoObsessed
03-22-2012, 01:39 PM
The vehicle was then taped off; any rubber trim or sharp edges was masked off:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3850.jpg

As a precautionary measure, paint thickness readings were taken to ensure safe levels of paint was present to work with. The Ford GT's paint proved to be very healthy:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3851.jpg

The Paint Correction:

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3851-1.jpg

Because of the relatively low levels of defects on the paint, a single stage correction was in order using Meguiars D300 Correction Compound along with Meguiars MF Cutting Discs.

Before (A particularly deep defect in which a partial correction was possible):
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3855.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3855-1.jpg

Before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3917.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3925.jpg

Before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3931.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3937.jpg

With the paint correction completed, the vehicle was wiped down with Carpro Eraser to ensure no defects were covered by the D300 compound. In addition, this prepared the surface for the application of a LSP. In this case, Swissvax Shield was used:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3957.jpg

All dust and polish residue in between panels were removed:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3959.jpg

The Interior was in fantastic shape and a quick vacuum followed by a wipe down of the leather seats by Leatherique Prestine Clean, and Sonax Dashboard Cleaner for the trim yielded these results (Taken in Auto Obsessed's "Clean Room"):
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_6206_gt.jpg

Hamann
03-22-2012, 05:45 PM
:drool:

Such a Sexy Car

TomcoPDR
03-22-2012, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by AutoObsessed


http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_3836.jpg



Sexy time!

Very nice work AO.

LongCity
03-22-2012, 11:48 PM
What was the cost of this detail, if you don't mine me asking?

InRich
03-22-2012, 11:50 PM
how much does something like this cost? im curious

AutoObsessed
03-24-2012, 11:09 PM
Originally posted by Hamann
:drool:

Such a Sexy Car

Definitely, this car has so many details you can look at it all day and miss things. Really a spectacular car, and you should hear it!!



Originally posted by TomcoPDR


Sexy time!

Very nice work AO.

Thank you!



Originally posted by LongCity
What was the cost of this detail, if you don't mine me asking?

To complete this car it took a huge list of products, 16 hours of labor, thousands of dollars of tools in a shop fully designed and decked out to provide the best environment to do high quality work. Short answer $1600


Originally posted by InRich
how much does something like this cost? im curious

See above.

AutoObsessed
03-24-2012, 11:10 PM
Here is a list of the products used to detail this Ford GT.

And a final photo courtesy of Nathan:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/edmonton-motorshow/IMG_5216-Edit.jpg]

List of products used:
Foaming
Foam Cannon(1007) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/foam-cannon-p-198.html?osCsid=ritums1lu7si5nethbvg0ik5h7)
2oz CG Citrus Wash and Gloss(1008) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/chemical-guys-citruswash-gloss-16oz-p-934.html) topped with water.

Wash
Foam Cannon.
2oz CG W and G(1008) in cannon and 2oz in wash bucket.
Raceglaze Natural Sheepskin Wash Mitt(1610) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-natural-sheepskin-mitt-p-814.html)
Gtechniq WM1 Merino Wash Mitt(1842) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/gtechniq-wm1-merino-fine-wool-wash-mitt-p-1046.html)
Griotís Garage Micro Fibre Wash Pads(1699) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-micro-fiber-wash-pads-11290-p-895.html)
Raceglaze Detail Brushes(1602) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-brush-set-p-806.html)
2 Bucket Comboís(1732) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/bucket-combo-p-1255.html)

Wheels and Wells
P21S Wheel Cleaner(1035) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/p21s-gel-wheel-cleaner-refill-litre-p-225.html)
Boars hair wheel brush(1227) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/boars-hair-wheel-brush-p-415.html)
Griotís wheel well brush(1692) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-wheel-well-brush-15502-p-888.html)
EZ Detail brush (1234) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/daytona-speed-master-brush-p-380.html) and detail brush mini(1235) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/detail-brush-mini-p-381.html)

Engine
P21S TAW(1040) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/p21s-total-auto-wash-1000ml-wsprayer-p-267.html)
Raceglaze Detail Brushes(1602) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-brush-set-p-806.html)

Clay
Sonus SFX Ultra-fine clay(1402) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-sfx-ultra-fine-detailing-clay-p-601.html)
Sonus Glyde Clay Lubricant(1126) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-glyde-clay-lubricant-p-342.html)

Polish
Paint
Meguiars MF Cutting Discs(2111) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/meguiars-microfiber-cutting-disc-5in-p-1323.html)
Meguiars D300 Correction Compound(2112) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/meguiars-microfiber-correction-compound-p-1324.html)

Wipedown
Carpro Eraser(2057) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/carpro-eraser-p-1288.html)

LSP
Swissvax Shield(1616) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-shield-with-non-stick-ptfe-wax-p-820.html)

Interior
Sonax Dashboard Cleaner(1517) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonax-dashboard-cleaner-matte-p-717.html)
Leatherique Prestine Clean (1011) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/leatherique-pristine-clean-16oz-p-202.html)

Misc
Griotís Garage Swabs(1201) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-double-swabs-15709-p-470.html) & Griot's Garage Swabs (2329) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=2329)
Superior Blue MF(1365) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/microfiber-superior-blue-p-579.html)
Value Yellow MF(2049) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/microfiber-value-yellow-p-1259.html)
Metro Master Blaster (1266) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/metro-master-blaster-mb3-p-334.html)
Swissvax Seal Feed(1759) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-sealfeed-p-952.html)

Showtime!
Victoria Wax Quick Detailer(1983) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/victoria-wax-quick-detail-spray-16oz-p-1187.html)
Griotís Garage Rubber Prep(1655) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-rubber-prep-8oz-wsponge-11050-p-853.html)
Migliore Bella Lustra Tire Glaze(2115) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/migliore-bella-lustra-tire-glaze-p-1318.html)
Chemical Guys Bare Bones(1316) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/chemical-guys-bare-bones-p-530.html)
Chemical Guys Clear Seal(1306) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/chemical-guys-clear-seal-16oz-p-521.html)