PDA

View Full Version : Anyone recently get their non GDL class 5?

NCS05
04-17-2012, 07:51 PM
As the title state

I would like to get out of the GDL program but I honestly have no clue on what the "advance" test is about. Let's say I'm a fairly competent driver, know the rules of the road (merging, traffic circles etc), no tickets, would I be able to pass?

Kobe
04-17-2012, 07:55 PM
It was pretty tough, about 1hr long...

You need 2 speak to the instructor while driving, what you observe etc etc.

After awhile you start feeling comfortable and avoid some things, but overall it wasn't that bad I lost most of my points on the 2nd half of the exam.

JfuckinC
04-17-2012, 07:57 PM
lol i did it 2 weeks ago, easy as shit.. didn't have to talk to my instructor at all though like most people do so that might have helped, he just told me where to drive.

Only thing i got docked for was approaching intersections too quickly when i was taking a right at green lights :dunno:

Squishy
04-17-2012, 07:59 PM
I'm going for it on Thursday.... it's $131! Such a rip off, damn registries...

flipstah
04-17-2012, 07:59 PM
So easy. It just brings you to either Deerfoot or 16th as the 'advance' part.

That and random questions about road rules.

Sentry
04-17-2012, 08:17 PM
I had a full class 5 from the NWT and when I transferred it to AB they put me on GDL again. Now THAT was horse shit.

But I took my "advanced" AB test 2 years ago in a $300 EF hatch I bought to haul parts/get around in while my red EG was blown up. :)

But yeah, random questions, you have to say what you observe for a period or two.

Only lost points for clipping yellows on left turns cause I'm FUCKIN EFFICIENT and took a proper line. :D

Chantastic
04-17-2012, 08:19 PM
I had to take mine twice :(