PDA

View Full Version : Air Conditioning for my house

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

GoChris
04-23-2012, 01:31 PM
I found a post a year ago that mentioned a couple options. Just wondering if that's still the guy to call or if anyone knows of a better deal?

I'm not exactly flush with cash so I'll need to shop around, but I'd like to get something as my wife and two kids are home every day and last summer was a bit much heat wise at times.

Thanks

spike98
04-23-2012, 01:56 PM
I did my central air myself for about $1600. I did have help from my uncle however as he is a Tin-smith by trade. He really just gave me pointers on the "right way" to do it.

After getting everything done we paid a pro to do the charge piping and charge it. That was a $150 kiss.

If you have the plenum already in your ducting for the A/C then it is fairly simple after that.

CanmoreOrLess
04-23-2012, 03:44 PM
I go with the ghetto A/C program, always have a couple of boxes of Popsicles in the freezer. Too hot? Have a Popsicle. Too cold? Put on a sweater.

http://www.popsicle.com

You really do not want to hear of my ghetto hot tub.

max_boost
04-23-2012, 04:28 PM
Ask Jordan Lotoski for Gavin's contacts. He did the central air for my house and saved 30% compared to a quote from Sears.

JordanLotoski
04-23-2012, 04:46 PM
Gavin Rairie
403-888-1592

:thumbsup:

ExtraSlow
04-23-2012, 09:05 PM
Gavin is the man. My Ac is cranked right now.

GoChris
04-23-2012, 09:24 PM
Thanks, I'll give him a call tomorrow or very soon this week. :thumbsup:

codetrap
04-23-2012, 09:52 PM
Yeah, I'm thinking that this is going to be the summer we install AC as well. It's 26C in the house right now..

JordanLotoski
04-23-2012, 10:51 PM
A balmy 20 degrees in my house...thanks Gavin :thumbsup:

Zero102
04-24-2012, 06:56 AM
This is the year we are pulling the trigger too, installing low-E windows in a month or two then going for whole house AC shortly after.