PDA

View Full Version : Best gas

Pages : [1] 2

Grogador
05-09-2012, 10:02 AM
I'm new to this whole "high performance" thing, driving beaters most of my life. So I'm wondering who has the best most dick-curlingly potent gasoline for my baby? It's for the CBR600RR but I figured it would get more feedback here than bike talk. I used Esso in the cars, mostly due to Speedpass, but it makes the bike run like shit. My friend claims Shell has the best and it seems to do the job, any other opinions??

boarderfatty
05-09-2012, 10:19 AM
After doing some work and to my STI I data logged gas A tank of Esso 91, Petro 91, Shell 91, and Husky 94.

Cant remember the exact numbers but the gasses in order from least knock and timing retardation to most (aka best to worst)

Shell, Esso, Husky, Petro

I think Husky's 94 was lower solely because of its ethonol content. I was able to adjust my tune for this but my gas milage became shittier than it already as and switched back to shell 91

Twin_Cam_Turbo
05-09-2012, 10:21 AM
Shell 91 I say. Only had one car that didn't like it.

Aleks
05-09-2012, 11:35 AM
Shell 91.

Grogador
05-09-2012, 11:39 AM
Sweet, that solves it, thanks guys!

J-hop
05-09-2012, 12:11 PM
Originally posted by boarderfatty
After doing some work and to my STI I data logged gas A tank of Esso 91, Petro 91, Shell 91, and Husky 94.

Cant remember the exact numbers but the gasses in order from least knock and timing retardation to most (aka best to worst)

Shell, Esso, Husky, Petro

I think Husky's 94 was lower solely because of its ethonol content. I was able to adjust my tune for this but my gas milage became shittier than it already as and switched back to shell 91