PDA

View Full Version : 2 week notice

BeyondNewB
06-28-2012, 11:02 AM
I've been working at my current job for 3 years, including summer student position. I want to give my 2 week notice but if they ask me where Im going, do I have to tell them?

it's a direct competitor.

xolemonteaox
06-28-2012, 11:07 AM
You are not obliged to tell them.

flipstah
06-28-2012, 11:20 AM
You are not obligated to tell them but I do to promote transparency between two parties.

I believe it's more proper and civil that way.

lint
06-28-2012, 11:25 AM
Do you want an extra 2 weeks of vacation? Typically a company will give you pay in lieu if you're going to a competitor.

colinxx235
06-28-2012, 12:10 PM
^

Yup, exactly why I told my previous employer I was going to a direct competitor. I wanted two weeks free inbetween :rofl:

It didn't work tho.... :(

schocker
06-28-2012, 12:52 PM
Originally posted by colinxx235
^

Yup, exactly why I told my previous employer I was going to a direct competitor. I wanted two weeks free inbetween :rofl:

It didn't work tho.... :(
Maybe they lol'd where you were going :rofl:

i keed, i keed

AudiPWR
06-28-2012, 01:10 PM
Yeah let them know. I was going to go from ED to PCL and when I told ED that I was leaving to get on with PCL they gave me an offer I couldn't refuse.

kvg
06-28-2012, 01:12 PM
^:werd: they could sweeten the pot for you.

ga16i
06-28-2012, 01:30 PM
You don't have to tell them anything. But do take precautions and have your stuff in order prior to giving notice in case things go sour during the meeting and you're asked to leave immediately. Things like this to me should be on a need to know basis, don't say anything other than you're giving your 2 weeks. It doesn't benefit you to give any other information beyond that.

Thaco
06-28-2012, 01:55 PM
Originally posted by ga16i