PDA

View Full Version : Auto Obsessed Specialty Detail - Shelby GT500 Super Snake



AutoObsessed
07-05-2012, 01:26 PM
Auto Obsessed was given the opportunity to work on a truly unique Shelby GT500 Super Snake with the primary focus being paint restoration. The black paint on this Super Snake was very soft resulting in extremely heavy defects as we will later see.

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_6991.jpg


Upon initial inspection, it was clear the vehicle's paint required some serious attention:

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_6974.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_6975.jpg


We began by cleaning the wheels, P21s Wheel Cleaner Gel (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/p21s-gel-wheel-cleaner-kit-500ml-p-227.html) was used alongside AutoGlym Custom Wheel Cleaner (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/autoglym-m-22.html)for the tires:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_6976.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_6984.jpg

Can't forget about the wheel wells:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_6989.jpg


A quick test revealed the paint contained a wax or sealant:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_6995.jpg

This LSP would have to be removed before a proper paint correction could be done and thus the vehicle was foamed using Chemical Guys Citrus Wash n Gloss (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/chemical-guys-citruswash-gloss-16oz-p-934.html):
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_6998.jpg

It was then washed using the two bucket method:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7008.jpg

The vehicle was then rinsed, beading no longer existed and thus the LSP has been stripped:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7004.jpg

It was critical that spotless rinse was used to ensure no water spots would be left during the rinse phase. Untreated:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7013.jpg

Filtered:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7015.jpg

AutoObsessed
07-05-2012, 01:27 PM
The vehicle was then dried using the Metro Master Blaster (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/metro-500watt-12v-vacuum-p-1524.html):
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7024.jpg

With the wash done, contaminants were removed using Sonus Ultra-Fine Detailing Clay (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-sfx-ultra-fine-detailing-clay-p-601.html)alongside Sonus Glyde (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-glyde-clay-lubricant-p-342.html):
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7036.jpg

This vehicle contained many decals that had to be taped as they can be damaged during the paint correction process:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7053.jpg

Phil corrected the majority of the paint using Meguiar's D300 (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/meguiars-microfiber-correction-compound-p-1324.html) on a microfiber pad (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/meguiars-microfiber-cutting-disc-5in-p-1323.html)on a Porter Cable DA (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/porter-cable-7424xp-p-253.html)for the compounding stage:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7097.jpg

While Adam utilized Menzerna's Super Intensive Polish (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/menzerna-super-intensive-po83q-32oz-p-282.html)on a LC White Pad (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/lake-country-ccs-white-pad-p-428.html)with a Flex Rotary (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/flex-150-rotary-polisher-p-996.html)was used for the tricky spots:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7100.jpg

50/50 of the truck lid:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7057_1.jpg

And a before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7080.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7090.jpg

50/50 of the front quarter:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7060.jpg

Hood before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7071.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7075.jpg

Side vents before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7081.jpg

AutoObsessed
07-05-2012, 01:29 PM
After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7081_1.jpg

Front bumper before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7104.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7108.jpg

50/50 of the tail lights:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7114.jpg


With the paint correction completed, Swissvax Concorso (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-concorso-concours-wax-p-821.html) was used as a LSP:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7205.jpg

AutoObsessed
07-05-2012, 01:30 PM
The finished product:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7174.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7177.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7186.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7189.jpg

And some sunlight photos:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7203_1.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/GT500/IMG_7200.jpg





List of products used:
Foaming
Foam Cannon(1007) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/foam-cannon-p-198.html?osCsid=ritums1lu7si5nethbvg0ik5h7)
2oz CG Citrus Wash and Gloss(1008) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/chemical-guys-citruswash-gloss-16oz-p-934.html)

Wash
Foam Cannon.
2oz CG W and G(1008) in cannon and 2oz in wash bucket.
Raceglaze Natural Sheepskin Wash Mitt(1610) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-natural-sheepskin-mitt-p-814.html)
Griotís Garage Micro Fibre Wash Pads(1699) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-micro-fiber-wash-pads-11290-p-895.html)
Raceglaze Detail Brushes(1602) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-brush-set-p-806.html)
2 Bucket Comboís(1732) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/bucket-combo-p-1255.html)

Wheels and Wells
P21S Wheel Cleaner(1035) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/p21s-gel-wheel-cleaner-refill-litre-p-225.html)
Autoglym Custom Wheel Cleaner (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/autoglym-custom-wheel-cleaner-p-370.html)
EZ Detail brush (1234) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/daytona-speed-master-brush-p-380.html) and detail brush mini(1235) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/detail-brush-mini-p-381.html)
Raceglaze Brush Set (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-brush-set-p-806.html)

Clay
Sonus SFX Ultra-fine clay(1402) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-sfx-ultra-fine-detailing-clay-p-601.html)
Sonus Glyde Clay Lubricant(1126) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-glyde-clay-lubricant-p-342.html)

Wipedown
Carpro Eraser(2057) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/carpro-eraser-p-1288.html)

LSP
Swissvax Concorso (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-concorso-concours-wax-p-821.html)

Misc
Superior Blue MF(1365) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/microfiber-superior-blue-p-579.html)
Value Yellow MF(2049) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/microfiber-value-yellow-p-1259.html)
Poor Boys Spray n Wipe (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/poorboys-world-spray-and-wipe-p-496.html)
Griot's Garage Rubber Prep (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-rubber-prep-16oz-wsponge-11071-p-854.html)
Migliore Bella Lustra Tire Glaze (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/migliore-bella-lustra-tire-glaze-p-1318.html)

BensonTT
07-05-2012, 01:33 PM
Crazy nice!! The job done, not the car.. LoL:)

KRyn
07-05-2012, 01:34 PM
:eek:
Wow! Amazing work!

GQBalla
07-05-2012, 01:49 PM
nice job!

flipstah
07-05-2012, 02:49 PM
Now that is a clean job! :thumbsup: :drool:

Props to Auto Obsessed.

kvg
07-05-2012, 03:27 PM
Great work

flipstah
07-05-2012, 03:46 PM
How long does a process like this usually take?

canadian booster
07-05-2012, 04:15 PM
amazing! very well done!

max_boost
07-05-2012, 04:31 PM
Attention to detail is out of this world. :thumbsup:

nismodrifter
07-05-2012, 04:41 PM
wowzas

Dooms_Bane
07-05-2012, 04:45 PM
holy shit that is epic

AutoObsessed
07-05-2012, 06:39 PM
Thank you everyone, it was nice to be able to work on this car and see it up close. One of the coolest things to see is the cars drive away and take the show on the streets, this car was extremely shiney and really stood out.



Originally posted by flipstah
How long does a process like this usually take?

This car had 37 man hrs in it, there is so much detail with all the stripes, fins, scoops, etc. which make the polishing process harder. We did a full 3 stage polish on it and only focused on the paint and exterior detail, no interior or engine detailing was done.