PDA

View Full Version : Unmployment benefits?

Mostwanted
07-31-2012, 11:06 PM
I have a quick question about the laws in Alberta with being unemployed. Long story short, i have been working as a manager at a retail store for almost 3 years now, and now they told me today that they are closing the store on august 26th, and was mentioned that i would get the unemployment pay. ( I work for sketchy owners they are based in Toronto and never paid us on time or always had an excuse for stupid things, hence why I want to know the laws for Alberta so they don't screw me over )
What is the percentage I will be getting and how are they gonna calculate how much im getting? im only 20 thats why i'm new at this and for example lets say i earned 33 xxx$ last year how much am i getting out of that, should i be aware of anything that they might pull?

thanks in advance

RickDaTuner
07-31-2012, 11:17 PM
If I'm not mistaken, it's half your pay up to
400/week.
The employers pay a percentage of that through taxes, but the money ultimately comes from the government wether or not the employer pays the dues.

If I were you man, I would skip on the EI and find another job(not sure of situation).
Receiving EI takes a lot of benefits from you later on from your taxes. For example @ 30k/ year you get anywhere from 1.5-3k in returns but filling for EI in that year will bring that return down to 600-1k. Now that a very rough estimate, but I hope you get the idea.

If you are thinking that the employers are going to pay you EI as a last paycheck or as a layoff check, then that's not going to happen, and if they do something along those lines, then they are commiting some type of fraud. It all goes through service Canada.

Best luck man, but it's. It hard to find a 30k + job these days, especially with your previous managerial experience.

Good luck

Mostwanted
07-31-2012, 11:44 PM