PDA

View Full Version : Auto Obsessed Restorative Detail - BMW M3 Convertible



AutoObsessed
08-25-2012, 05:39 PM
This 2001 BMW M3 Convertible has undergone an extensive paint correction and detail by Auto Obsessed. The black paint of this M3 is extremely soft resulting in heavy defects present throughout the paint. A total of 30 hours was spent on the vehicle including an extensive paint correction, wheels, ragtop, and interior detail.

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8321.jpg

A quick look at the paint revealed the extent of the paint defects:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8319.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8329.jpg


To begin this detail, the vehicle was foamed and washed using Chemical Guys Citrus Wash n Gloss to remove any wax/sealants present on the paint:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8330.jpg

Next Ragtopp cleaner and a horsehair brush was used to clean the top:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8333.jpg

With the vehicle dried, we began with the paint correction:
Paint thinkness measurements were taken to ensure the paint was healthy for correction:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8349.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8353.jpg

Trunk before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8336.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8344.jpg

Quarter panel before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8364.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8370.jpg

AutoObsessed
08-25-2012, 05:41 PM
Driver side door before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8373.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8382.jpg

Before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8378.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8385.jpg

Front fender before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8388.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8416.jpg

With the paint correction completed it was time to focus our attention to the wheels. The vehicle was put on a lift and the wheels were taken off to be cleaned:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8446.jpg

Spot polishing was performed to remove defects present on the wheels:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8455.jpg

Before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8450.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8459.jpg

Wheels cleaned and coated with Gtechniq Wheel Armour:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8654.jpg

AutoObsessed
08-25-2012, 05:42 PM
While the wheels were off the wheel wells were detailed using 1z W99:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8546.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8547.jpg

Next the interior was detailed and vacuumed:

50/50:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8624.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8628.jpg

Engine bay wiped down:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8626.jpg

With the interior completed we coated the Ragtop with Raggtopp Fabric Protectant:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8639.jpg

Finaly, Swissvax Shield was applied to the paint to provide 6 months of protection:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8627.jpg

AutoObsessed
08-25-2012, 05:43 PM
The finished product:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8646.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8654.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8651.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8652.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8663.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8657.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/M3Vert/IMG_8677.jpg



List of products used:
Foaming
Foam Cannon(1007) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/foam-cannon-p-198.html?osCsid=ritums1lu7si5nethbvg0ik5h7)
2oz CG Citrus Wash and Gloss(1008) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/chemical-guys-citruswash-gloss-16oz-p-934.html)

Wash
Foam Cannon.
2oz CG W and G(1008) in cannon and 2oz in wash bucket.
Raceglaze Natural Sheepskin Wash Mitt(1610) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-natural-sheepskin-mitt-p-814.html)
Griotís Garage Micro Fibre Wash Pads(1699) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-micro-fiber-wash-pads-11290-p-895.html)
Raceglaze Detail Brushes(1602) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-brush-set-p-806.html)
2 Bucket Comboís(1732) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/bucket-combo-p-1255.html)

Wheels, Wheel Wells, Tires
Griot's Heavy Duty Wheel Cleaner (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-heavy-duty-wheel-cleaner-11026-p-1249.html)
Einszett W99 (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/einszett-w99-all-purpose-degreaser-concentrate-liter-p-1063.html)Boars hair wheel brush(1227) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/boars-hair-wheel-brush-p-415.html)
EZ Detail brush (1234) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/daytona-speed-master-brush-p-380.html) and detail brush mini(1235) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/detail-brush-mini-p-381.html)
Raceglaze Brush Set (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-brush-set-p-806.html)

Clay and Decontamination
Sonus SFX Ultra-fine clay(1402) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-sfx-ultra-fine-detailing-clay-p-601.html)
Sonus Glyde Clay Lubricant(1126) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-glyde-clay-lubricant-p-342.html)

Wipedown
Carpro Eraser(2057) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/carpro-eraser-p-1288.html)

LSP
Swissvax Shield (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-shield-with-non-stick-ptfe-wax-p-820.html)

Interior
Swissvax Leather Cleaner(1712) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-leather-cleaner-p-908.html)
Swissvax Leather Cleaner Forte (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-leather-cleaner-forte-p-1024.html)Swissvax Leather Milk(1713) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-leather-milk-p-909.html)

Misc
Superior Blue MF(1365) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/microfiber-superior-blue-p-579.html)
Value Yellow MF(2049) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/microfiber-value-yellow-p-1259.html)
Metro Master Blaster (1266) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/metro-master-blaster-mb3-p-334.html)
Swissvax Seal Feed(1759) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-sealfeed-p-952.html)