PDA

View Full Version : Auto Obsessed Specialty Detail - Aston Martin V8 Vantage



AutoObsessed
08-25-2012, 05:49 PM
This 2008 Aston Martin V8 Vantage was brought into Auto Obsessed for a thorough interior and exterior detail. The vehicle does indeed get driven and thus much focus was placed for the exterior. The wheels and engine bay as we will later see required some serious attention and the paint required some spot correction.

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7828.jpg

We began this detail with the wheels:

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7824.jpg

The wheels were coated in a way that left the surface very porous and thus large acumulations of brake dust was present on the surface. Griot's Garage Heavy Duty Wheel Cleaner was utilized while the tires were degreased with 1Z W99:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7855.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7862.jpg

Next the exhaust tips were cleaned with P21s Polishing Soap:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7884.jpg

Before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7871.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_8031_2.jpg


An extensive washdown and clean of the engine bay was required:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7838.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7839.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_8023.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_8024.jpg

AutoObsessed
08-25-2012, 05:51 PM
With the engine bay done we began with the wash and decontamination of the exterior paint, begining with a foam bath:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7875.jpg

Fine details were dealt with:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7876.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7878.jpg

Tar was present throughout the vehicle; TarX was used to remove the contaminations efficiently:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7885.jpg

With the paint decontaminated and dried, our attention shifted to spot polishing the minor defects and water spots that were etched on to the paint:
Before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7972.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7974.jpg

Before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7964.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7969.jpg

Before:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7954.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7961.jpg


The majority of the Vantage's interior was leather, Swissvax Leather Cleaner was utilized (left side cleaned):
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7981.jpg

Swissvax Leather Milk was used as a last step on the leather:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7984.jpg

AutoObsessed
08-25-2012, 05:52 PM
Finally, Swissvax Shield was used on the paint to provide 6 months of protection:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_7988.jpg

Some finishing touches:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_8021.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_8022.jpg


The final product:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_8027.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_8031_1.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_8046.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_8036.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/Astonv8/IMG_8032.jpg





List of products used:
Foaming
Foam Cannon(1007) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/foam-cannon-p-198.html?osCsid=ritums1lu7si5nethbvg0ik5h7)
2oz CG Citrus Wash and Gloss(1008) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/chemical-guys-citruswash-gloss-16oz-p-934.html)

Wash
Foam Cannon.
2oz CG W and G(1008) in cannon and 2oz in wash bucket.
Raceglaze Natural Sheepskin Wash Mitt(1610) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-natural-sheepskin-mitt-p-814.html)
Griotís Garage Micro Fibre Wash Pads(1699) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-micro-fiber-wash-pads-11290-p-895.html)
Raceglaze Detail Brushes(1602) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-brush-set-p-806.html)
2 Bucket Comboís(1732) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/bucket-combo-p-1255.html)

Wheels, Wheel Wells, Tires
Griot's Heavy Duty Wheel Cleaner (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-heavy-duty-wheel-cleaner-11026-p-1249.html)
Einszett W99 (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/einszett-w99-all-purpose-degreaser-concentrate-liter-p-1063.html)Boars hair wheel brush(1227) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/boars-hair-wheel-brush-p-415.html)
EZ Detail brush (1234) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/daytona-speed-master-brush-p-380.html) and detail brush mini(1235) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/detail-brush-mini-p-381.html)
Raceglaze Brush Set (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-brush-set-p-806.html)

Clay and Decontamination
CarPro Tar X
(http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/carpro-tar-p-1289.html)Sonus SFX Ultra-fine clay(1402) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-sfx-ultra-fine-detailing-clay-p-601.html)
Sonus Glyde Clay Lubricant(1126) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-glyde-clay-lubricant-p-342.html)

Wipedown
Carpro Eraser(2057) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/carpro-eraser-p-1288.html)

LSP
Swissvax Shield (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-shield-with-non-stick-ptfe-wax-p-820.html)

Interior
Swissvax Leather Cleaner(1712) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-leather-cleaner-p-908.html)
Swissvax Leather Milk(1713) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-leather-milk-p-909.html)

Misc
Superior Blue MF(1365) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/microfiber-superior-blue-p-579.html)
Value Yellow MF(2049) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/microfiber-value-yellow-p-1259.html)
Metro Master Blaster (1266) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/metro-master-blaster-mb3-p-334.html)
Swissvax Seal Feed(1759) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-sealfeed-p-952.html)