PDA

View Full Version : Auto Obsessed Specialty Detail - Chevrolet Corvette Grand Sport



AutoObsessed
08-25-2012, 06:31 PM
Auto Obsessed performed a 10 hour detail on this very unique 2010 Corvette Grand Sport. A complete wash, decontamination, and wax was in order in addition to an extensive interior, engine bay, wheels, and exhaust tip detail.

A quick look at the vehicle upon arrival:

Insects on the front bumper:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8103.jpg

Wheels required some serious attention:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8104.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8109.jpg

Exhaust tips needed work:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8143.jpg

We began this detail with the engine bay, P21s Total Auto Wash was used:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8137.jpg

Next, the exhaust tips began it's initial restoration stage with P21s Polishing Soap:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8144.jpg

With the engine and exhaust tips out of the way it was time to foam and wash the vehicle using Chemical Guys Citrus Wash n Gloss:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8146.jpg

With the vehicle washed, it was placed on a lift where the wheels were taken off to be detailed:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8192.jpg

Griot's Garage Heavy Duty Wheel Cleaner was used for the initial cleaning stage:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8194.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8195.jpg

The barrels of the wheels were heavily contaminated with tar; TarX was utilized:

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8196.jpg

1z W99 was used to remove previous silicone dressing present on the tires:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8197.jpg

AutoObsessed
08-25-2012, 06:33 PM
With the wheels contaminant free, Gtechniq Wheel Armour was applied:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8198.jpg

With the wheels off, the wheel wells and brake calipers were cleaned using 1z W99:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8208.jpg

After:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8213.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8214.jpg

Finally, Swissvax Scuderia was applied to the paint; although Scuderia is made specific to Ferarri we found it greatly enhanced this Grand Sport's red paint.
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8218.jpg


The finished product:
http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8231.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8235.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8238.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8244.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8241.jpg

http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/images/AO_pictures/VetteGS/IMG_8250.jpg



List of products used:
Foaming
Foam Cannon(1007) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/foam-cannon-p-198.html?osCsid=ritums1lu7si5nethbvg0ik5h7)
2oz CG Citrus Wash and Gloss(1008) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/chemical-guys-citruswash-gloss-16oz-p-934.html)

Wash
Foam Cannon.
2oz CG W and G(1008) in cannon and 2oz in wash bucket.
Raceglaze Natural Sheepskin Wash Mitt(1610) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-natural-sheepskin-mitt-p-814.html)
Griotís Garage Micro Fibre Wash Pads(1699) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-micro-fiber-wash-pads-11290-p-895.html)
Raceglaze Detail Brushes(1602) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-brush-set-p-806.html)
2 Bucket Comboís(1732) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/bucket-combo-p-1255.html)

Wheels, Wheel Wells, Tires
Griot's Heavy Duty Wheel Cleaner (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/griots-garage-heavy-duty-wheel-cleaner-11026-p-1249.html)
Einszett W99 (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/einszett-w99-all-purpose-degreaser-concentrate-liter-p-1063.html)Boars hair wheel brush(1227) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/boars-hair-wheel-brush-p-415.html)
EZ Detail brush (1234) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/daytona-speed-master-brush-p-380.html) and detail brush mini(1235) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/detail-brush-mini-p-381.html)
Raceglaze Brush Set (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/raceglaze-brush-set-p-806.html)

Clay and Decontamination
CarPro Tar X
(http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/carpro-tar-p-1289.html)Sonus SFX Ultra-fine clay(1402) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-sfx-ultra-fine-detailing-clay-p-601.html)
Sonus Glyde Clay Lubricant(1126) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/sonus-glyde-clay-lubricant-p-342.html)

Wipedown
Carpro Eraser(2057) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/carpro-eraser-p-1288.html)

LSP
Swissvax Scuderia (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-scuderia-wax-for-italian-cars-p-817.html)
Gtechniq C5 Wheel Armour (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/gtechniq-wheel-armour-15ml-p-1035.html)
Interior
Swissvax Leather Cleaner(1712) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-leather-cleaner-p-908.html)
Swissvax Leather Cleaner Forte (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-leather-cleaner-forte-p-1024.html)Swissvax Leather Milk(1713) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/swissvax-leather-milk-p-909.html)

Misc
Superior Blue MF(1365) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/microfiber-superior-blue-p-579.html)
Value Yellow MF(2049) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/microfiber-value-yellow-p-1259.html)
Metro Master Blaster (1266) (http://www.autoobsessed.com/shop/metro-master-blaster-mb3-p-334.html)