PDA

View Full Version : My first rental property?

93VR6
08-31-2012, 07:03 PM
Looking for any information I can read up on about rental properties in Alberta and anything else you guys would recommend I familiarize myself with.

Basic situation here, I'm 25 and am currently renting a condo for 500 a month all in living with a room mate. I currently have no debt, credit or otherwise, own my truck (07 xterra) which I need for work. I have saved up enough for a 20% down payment on a place in my price range and a few I have been looking at are currently rental properties with 2 suites in them, main floor and basement. Is it a good or bad idea to be living in a place that I am also renting out or would it be better to continue living in my condo since it's cheap and renting out the entire house until I get tired of my current living arrangement.

Shoot me any questions you have or any suggestions, I am very new to this and am really trying to learn as much as I can.

Also want to add that I am a consultant and am currently incorporated, would it be in my best interest to buy the house under the corporation or personal?

Thanks Beyond.

f150mikey060
09-01-2012, 08:14 AM
This would be a good place to start

http://www.cmhc-schl.gc.ca/en/co/reho/yogureho/fola/fola_001.cfm

In my opinion it isnt a bad idea, I rent the main floor of my home and live in the basement. As long as you are fine with having somebody living above you this is optimal since you can typically charge a lot more for the main floor rental. Since you are used to living in a condo it shouldnt be any different having someone live above you or below you. Im no financial advisor however I wouldnt recommend putting your primary residence that you live in under a corporation. If you owned multiple properties then yes, those could go under the corp. However if your company were to go bankrupt for whatever reason atleast they wont take your primary residence and you will still have a place to live.

Toma