PDA

View Full Version : Applying for Jobs - Better to have electrical over software engineering degree?

Little Dragon
09-10-2012, 04:12 PM
So a little background information. I'm currently entering my 3rd year of school at the UofC and am majoring in software engineering.

I'm applying to various internships right now and have noticed a common trend among the "requirements" for positions that interest me. A lot of them list that students applying must currently be majoring in "electrical engineering".

For those of you in the industry, I am just wondering if this is a very strict requirement? I have called in and emailed some companies but were given vague explanations. Some said yes, some said no, others say doesn't matter as long as you have relevant experience.
I should add that I interned this past summer at an IT company that does SCADA systems for O&G companies, so I have some experience.

Right now, I can technically switch over to electrical quite easily (a few courses carry over) but I cringe at the thought of some of the electrical courses I have to take so I'd like some second opinions.

Would you recommend me to switch over to an electrical engineering degree over a software engineering degree?
Or does it not matter too much?

While I'm here, any companies that you all would recommend for a software guy like myself?
I have been compiling a list and want to make sure I don't miss out on any good companies to work for!

Thanks in advance!

-TL

revelations
09-10-2012, 04:30 PM
if I had to choose, it would definitely be software. The market is huge for guys who can PROPERLY code C++, Java, etc.

If you prefer hands-on - electrical might be better however.

I used to work for a small mapping company and we had both degrees of people in the office...so thats my small sample group :)

samo147
09-10-2012, 08:06 PM
I don't think people hiring would care too much what type of degree you have if you already have relevant experience.