PDA

View Full Version : The process of renting & screening tenants

88CRX
09-17-2012, 01:39 AM
I've never done this before and I have been doing a lot of reading online but I'm not really sure the process of showing/screening/etc of the potential tenants.....

My plan is as follows:

- list property
- set up showings to whomever responds
- at showing hold a mini interview and have them complete a application form (similar to the rent fast form but I've added a couple items).
- after I've shown I will verify employment, landlord references, possibly do a credit check (thoughts?) and then select the renter
- once I've selected the renter we complete the lease agreement (does everyone sign it right then a couple weeks prior to move in date?).
- and at what point would they owe first month rent and damage deposit (at time of signing lease or at time of move in date?)

And if anyone has any tips for screening renter post away haha.... thats by far my biggest concern at this point. Would it be unrealistic to ask for photocopies of drivers liscence and a pay stub or letter of employement?

msommers
09-17-2012, 07:22 AM
I've only been the tenant so I'll share what I've gone through.

Lease agreement: damage deposit provided and signed everything after I looked at the place and decided to go ahead with it.

References/employment/CC: References and proof of employment is fine but any place indicating they were wanting to do a credit search I didn't bother. My score is near perfect and personally I don't think it's the landlord's business. Plus I didn't want an additional search on my credit history, I try to keep them to an absolute minimum.

Paying rent: My place was kind of unusal as they wanted post dated cheques instead of cash which was a surprise and kind of a pain in the ass. Rent should be paid like any other time, 1st of the month.

So if I came by today, everything checked out for you and I put down a DD, I would be expected to pay Oct 1.