PDA

View Full Version : S2000 hesitation and CEL problem

Jeff_E
09-25-2012, 09:39 PM
Hey guys, I'm new to the whole s2000 scene and I'm still learning. Recently bought a S2000 and it needs some work done to it. Let me start off with the hesitation problem. I've read a couple of forums and threads (Most of them from s2ki) saying that it could be due to one of the following:

-Throttle body
-Fuel pump
-Map sensor
-Loose throttle cable
-Ignition coil
-Plugs
-Wires
-Dirty intake

I replace my dirty intake already and the hesitation was gone for a day and then It came back again today. It only hesitates in low rpms. around 2500-3500? A lot of the guys from s2ki said it could be the map sensor. I'm not too sure which one would it be. If someone already encounter this problem before and have fixed it would you mind sharing how you fixed yours? Help is really much appreciated.

Next will be the check engine light being on all the time. Got it check 3 times and it didn't throw any codes at all!!! Will this be connected to the first problem?

Thanks!
-Jeff

natty54
09-25-2012, 10:00 PM
dont have a s2000 but from what I know...

I would deff have a look at a plug and see what condition it is in. and if you dont know when they were last replaced change them.

look inside the TB see if there is any carbon build up - could be causing it to stick

the check engine light will more than likely tell you whats up so scan it, post up the codes and go from there

Jeff_E
09-25-2012, 10:02 PM
Originally posted by natty54
dont have a s2000 but from what I know...

"I would deff have a look at a plug and see what condition it is in. and if you dont know when they were last replaced change them.

look inside the TB see if there is any carbon build up - could be causing it to stick"

will definitely look into this over the weekend.

"the check engine light will more than likely tell you whats up so scan it, post up the codes and go from there"