PDA

View Full Version : Gem by Carati - The Brutally Honest Review

A790
10-18-2012, 08:41 PM
I love to support Beyond sponsors because it's almost always a win-win situation. The sponsor gets the business, and in turn they give us a bit of a discount/deal/bargain/whatever. I've been doing this for 8 years and it's been working out pretty well so far.

I approached Justin from Gem by Carati early July seeking some guidance regarding an engagement ring. I was actually looking for someone who was willing to set a diamond in a Tacori engagement ring I was looking at and Justin said he'd do the job for a nominal fee ($150).

Since I had not yet purchased the setting or the diamond I went in to meet with Justin to have a look at my options for diamonds. He showed me a variety, and before I came he e-mailed me consistently with new diamonds that had come in, their specs/prices, etc. His communication was always top-notch.

Like all guys looking to get engaged I was nervous and unsure of what I was doing, though I had taken a lot of time to become e-educated on diamonds. I had read lots of literature online about what makes a good diamond so I had an idea of what specs I should be looking for at a given price range. When I went in to his store Justin walked me through various diamond grades, their differences, etc. I wound up compromising on a couple of areas that I didn't think I was going to because I wasn't able to find a discernible difference to the naked eye or via 10x magnification. I was thankful he showed me that as he saved me several thousand dollars.

It came down to three gemstones to choose from. I wasn't sure what to be going for, and he whipped out a sample setting and threw them in one by one, taking plenty of time to allow me to look at the gems from every conceivable angle. We probably spent about an hour going back and forth before I decided on a stone. I put a deposit down and began to look for a setting.