PDA

View Full Version : Goin to the Uni without finishing high school

lindaL
10-26-2012, 01:25 PM
Is there anyone went to the university without finishing high school as well?

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/calgary/story/2012/10/25/calgary-students-education-act.html

I saw the news and it suddently reminds me the fact that I didn't finish my high school.

I am an electrical engineering student currently working in an automation company for my internship.

What happened to me was that I was sick I didn't write final exam of Social Studies 30-2. My in-school grade for social was like 80 as I remembered, I could only pass the course if my in school grade was 100% without doing the final.

I knew I was going to the University and I was planning to do the final exam whenever I have time so I can get my diploma, but then I never did.

It's been so many years now, since I already have a job and I almost finish my University, is there any point for me to write the exam?

max_boost
10-26-2012, 01:33 PM
rage2 only has a junior high diploma and he went to University for a year. I think he was missing social studies as well, not sure if he went back to finish it haha

Disoblige
10-26-2012, 01:54 PM
Engineering doesn't give a shit about Social Studies.

Requirements:

ELA 30-1
Chemistry 30
Physics 30
Pure Math 30
Math 31 (Calculus)

Short answer, no point whatsoever.

ga16i
10-26-2012, 02:32 PM
This isn't me, but someone I know failed Social Studies 30 and didn't finish High School and to this day still does not have a High School diploma. They went to MRC back when it was still MRC for 1 year to do transfer courses (nothing required Social 30), then transferred straight into Geophysics the year after and graduated a few years later. Pretty smart move to me, easy peasy MRC handholding for the first term and still ended up graduating UofC Geophysics without a high school diploma.

FixedGear
10-26-2012, 02:32 PM