PDA

View Full Version : Fort Mac??

weezy00
11-12-2012, 06:52 PM
OK I got a dilemma here.

I work in the Energy / Oil & Gas industry. I used to work in Ft. Mac when I graduated out of post secondary. I lived there for a few years and actually bought a place there.

I ended up getting married and moved back down to Edmonton where I found a job.

Now fast forward a few years and I get offered a job back in Ft. Mac. This time around I get offered a few bonuses that total 6 figures if I stay for 5 years!

Now I am very tempted to go back up, but my base wage is basically only 10K more, but I get in total about 30k more a year in Ft. Mac "allowances" outside of my bonuses.

At my current employer I basically have reached the top in my position and have only one move higher to go. But that position is held by one person, and I am sure other people who work with me will want that position, once he retires...

I am just looking for some other opinions on whether you guys would make the move for $20-30K more a year plus additional bonuses that total up over 6 figures for 5 years? There is room for progression within the company also.

I would be paying for rent out of my pocket, which would be ~$800/month, so I would have to factor that into my expenses. Basically I would be making the same base wage if you factor the expenses in, but would be making big bonuses throughout the 5 years I am there.

I would commute if I were to take the job, and my son and wife would live in Edmonton. I would basically be working 5 on 5 off.

bob9979
11-12-2012, 07:00 PM
if i were you Iwould take the move, cuz you have room to progress, that's simple reason. working 5 on 5 off sounds good to me.
:D
just my little thought

bigbadboss101
11-12-2012, 07:31 PM