PDA

View Full Version : Working While On Vacation

flipstah
11-15-2012, 01:42 PM
Hey all,

So I'm set for an approved vacation mid-December and our team was just informed that we have a big project starting early December. This was just thrown into us and our resources are scarce so every single person counts.

Now they're just poking fun of me leaving when this massive task just came (vacation was planned first), but have you ever had to work during vacation?

I haven't been asked to do so but I feel like I should because it's integral for our success....

rage2
11-15-2012, 01:50 PM
I don't think I've ever NOT worked during vacation. :rofl:

Perfect Dark
11-15-2012, 01:54 PM
Originally posted by rage2

Haha yep, my phone rings no matter where I am or what I'm doing.

lint
11-15-2012, 02:03 PM
Nope, never. But I'm a contractor and not that important.

darthVWader
11-15-2012, 02:07 PM
Just set aside one hour of your day to check and respond to emails and calls. Stick to that one hour. The one hour should be poolside with a great view :poosie: and a tall drink :thumbsup:

Disoblige
11-15-2012, 02:09 PM
Whatever.

The vacation was approved and usually you have primary and alternative delegate to cover your responsibilities when you are away.

Sure you could have a phone line available so they could ask you questions or have you guide them to do something but that's the most I would do.

And yes, check your e-mails.

Euro_Trash
11-15-2012, 02:09 PM
Originally posted by darthVWader
Just set aside one hour of your day to check and respond to emails and calls. Stick to that one hour. The one hour should be poolside with a great view :poosie: and a tall drink :thumbsup:

Exactly! When I come home from a 2 week vacation with hundreds of emails, I don't feel like the vacation was worth it. I usually try to hammer through emails throughout my vacation. I am not very good at relaxing.

BokCh0y
11-15-2012, 02:15 PM
Same boat as Rage2 here. Always working, I am.

sabad66