PDA

View Full Version : What Should I Know About Buying Gold & Silver

freshprince1
12-05-2012, 02:42 PM
Hope this is the proper spot for this thread.

I'd like to start buying Gold & Silver every so often. I'm a newbie to it, so I'd like to hear any advice, tips or warnings from your experience!

- Where are some good local places to buy?
- Best spots to store it? (i.e. Safety Deposit boxes at banks?, home safes?)
- Are there better times of the year to purchase?
- Are certain countries' gold coins better than others (i.e. US vs. CAN?)
- Is this even a good idea?

Thanks in advance!

sputnik
12-05-2012, 02:51 PM
Originally posted by freshprince1
Is this even a good idea?

How about some advice from Warren Buffett.

“When we took over Berkshire, it was selling at $15 a share and gold was selling at $20 an ounce. Gold is now $1600 and Berkshire is $120,000. Or you can take a broader example. If you buy an ounce of gold today and you hold it at hundred years, you can go to it every day and you could coo to it and fondle it and a hundred years from now, you’ll have one ounce of gold and it won’t have done anything for you in between. You buy 100 acres of farm land and it will produce for you every year. You can buy more farmland, and all kinds of things, and you still have 100 acres of farmland at the end of 100 years. You could you buy the Dow Jones Industrial Average for 66 at the start of 1900. Gold was then $20. At the end of the century, it was 11,400, and you would also have gotten dividends for a hundred years. So a decent productive asset will kill an unproductive asset.

“Why do you think gold bugs get so irate?"