PDA

View Full Version : Garage Heat

BMS
12-29-2012, 10:46 AM
I saw some old threads but they are a few years old so wanted an updated reply. I have a 28x20 garage and am wondering what the average heat cost might be with a forced air furnace. The garage is 549 SQ FT if that helps any. The furnace would run on natural gas.

Also what is a good place to get a used/cheaper furnace? Not many on Kijiji right now.

Thanks!

Darell_n
12-29-2012, 11:43 AM
Heating cost would depend on what temperature you keep it at and how well it's insulated. I keep mine at 4*C unoccupied and 17*C occupied (toggle switch) and it maybe adds $15/month for my 28x28 shop. Many of the wholesalers have scratch and dent deals for unit heaters. Check the websites for Refrigerative Supply, Independent Supply, Carrier / WWG. Personally I would buy new, but I'm a contractor and don't pay wholesale price.

BMS
12-29-2012, 11:52 AM
Thanks. I will likely keep it around the same temp. The garage is brand new and is fully insulated and dry-walled.

codetrap
12-29-2012, 12:01 PM

BMS
12-29-2012, 12:14 PM
Even if vented properly? I've never heard that before.

project240
12-29-2012, 12:20 PM
Originally posted by codetrap
woodworking

Agreed. Go Radiant Heat if this applies.

BMS
12-29-2012, 12:33 PM
Does running the chopsaw every so often count as woodworking? From what I've read radiant heat doesn't work as well as forced air.

project240
12-29-2012, 01:09 PM
Originally posted by BMS
Does running the chopsaw every so often count as woodworking? From what I've read radiant heat doesn't work as well as forced air.

Using a mitre saw alone does not constitute woodworking. I prefer radiant heat because I always have sawdust covering my flooring and radiant heat doesn't stir it up. Also, I have several thousand pounds of cast iron ready and willing to absorb that heat.

Darell_n
12-29-2012, 02:49 PM
Originally posted by codetrap