PDA

View Full Version : Wifi options?

DeeK
01-09-2013, 10:57 AM
Hey guys,

I have a client who is looking to extend his wifi range and I'm not too experienced with all the new wifi options as I usually just hardwire everything because its way better. But he wants to use his new Ipad and Iphone in his workshop.

His house has a netgear WNDR3700 located in the exact center of his house. 30 feet from his house he has his workshop, its a metal building (probably not good to pass a wifi signal through it). It's all on the same electrical system though so powerline networking would be an option. Although I'm not overly familiar with powerline networking.

So my question is? would it be better to go with a high powered repeater that may have spotty signal inside his building? or would a powerline networking wired to a wifi access point be the better way to go?

Can someone give me a quick rundown on how each of these systems work? These fancy new wifi options are all new to me...

Thanks in advance.

Alterac
01-09-2013, 02:04 PM
Is their any conduit that you could pull some network cable, and then hook it up to a wireless access point?

You could do powerline networking, get one of the Powerline AV 500 kits, and a Wireless Router (set it up as an access point though) and do that.

wtf im nameless
01-09-2013, 02:28 PM
What about a point to point bridge using something like this:

http://luxul.com/xap-1040

DeeK
01-09-2013, 03:45 PM
I should mention it is a permanently heated workshop. so it doesn't need a rugged outdoor element proof device.

But my original thought was to run a powerline setup to a wifi access point.