PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Dealership Ethics (help!)

Nsoentgerath
02-19-2013, 06:32 PM
Hello!

I am a university student who is naive when it comes to cars. I have some questions for the awesome people of this forum and would love if some of you could help me, or point me in the right direction. Here is my story:

January 13, 2013

I went into the Kramer Mazda dealership to inquire about a car, I ended up finding a 2011 Volvo S40 and made a deposit. I was told at this time that I could come back into Kramer Mazda and pick up the car on January 15, 2013, I was also informed at this time that the car would have brand new tires put onto it because the tires that were currently on the vehicle did not pass inspection (tread levels were too low).

January 15, 2013

I pick up the car, inspected to see that the tires were in fact new. They were new, I then left the dealership and began driving my great new car. I was never informed of what kind of tires were put on my vehicle, but seeing as it is the middle of January and I am living in Calgary I expected all season tires and didn't think about asking.

January 31, 2013 - 10:05 am

I hit a patch of snow and slide into a median causing $5000 in damage to my car.

January 31, 2013 - 12:00pm

Volvo dealership (where the car was towed after the accident) calls me and informs me of the damages. They also tell me that the tires Kramer Mazda put on the car are in fact Summer Performance Tires with a load index of 89 and a speed rating of W.

My cars OEM specs are 93V for my tires.

Basically Kramer Mazda sold me a vehicle with Summer tires that do not meet my cars OEM specs in the middle of winter.

I realize they do not have to legally inform me that they are putting summer tires on the vehicle, but I am curious to know if they are legally allowed to put tires that are not specified for my car onto a vehicle and then sell it. Especially without informing me (the customer) about this.