PDA

View Full Version : SAIT Business Diploma vs Leth mngt degree

muffzz
03-20-2013, 12:39 AM
Hey peeps just had a quick question. I graduated from SAIT last year with a diploma in business administration in finance and now I'm currently taking evening classes at the lethbridge campus here in calgary working towards my bachelor of management degree in finance i guess.

Just wanted some feedback as to how hard it will be to get a good job with that degree. I know it's just a management degree and all the courses are management based. I did some temp work last summer and at the beginning of this year and they said they hired me because I went to SAIT and they didn't even know Leth had a campus downtown calgary.

So how useful is this degree? I have a year left hopefully but I was thinking of maybe just focusing on working and getting some more experience in the Finance or even accounting industry. I feel this management degree is a big waste of time and this was my only post diploma option as u of c makes you do an extra year.

Any thoughts on the diploma vs degree? (i know the word degree has more value but i think the sait diploma is more recognized).

Vmack
03-20-2013, 08:14 AM
well if you're going to be doing accounting, I'd say lethbridge since you can't get a designation with a diploma

GS430
03-20-2013, 08:29 AM
What made you think that it's a waste of time?

On paper (resume's etc.) a degree will look exponentially better, and you've already got the wheels turning. Might as well finish it. Just my 0.02$

KappaSigma
03-20-2013, 11:08 AM
Its all what you do with it. Honestly I wouldnt stop with a diploma/degree. Get a designation after the fact a well.

max_boost
03-20-2013, 11:39 AM
Continuous improvement my friend. Get the degree, get a job, acquire experience, acquire knowledge, acquire currency, acquire bitches, keep moving forward.

Vmack
03-20-2013, 11:45 AM
Originally posted by max_boost