PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Windows 8?

Seth1968
04-22-2013, 06:20 PM
I'm a computer tech, and have heard/read/experienced just about everything imaginable about W8.

Brief summary:

W8 is an incredible operating system that far exceeds W7 in speed and security.

Long summary:

The typical, "I hate Windows 8, I want the desktop back".

!) It's not Window's 8 that these people hate, it's the Metro desktop (similar to a dashboard in a car) . These people are erroneously implicating a whole OS (the cars engine) based on 1 of its 2 dashboards.

What's wrong with W8? Nothing actually, as W8 kicks ass. The problem is "the fail" in which W8 was deployed and marketed. Examples:

1) When you setup W8, there is no mention of the "Desktop" tile. The most important tile for most end users.

2) When you finally know of the desktop mode, there is no mention that a right click on the bottom corner (normally a left click on the old start menu), displays actions similar to the old start menu.

3) The dual interface makes sense, but allow the end user to choose what interface to boot from.

Bottom line:

The idea of a unified OS across all platforms is brilliant. MS's mistake seems to be in the marketing/testing division, but they gave in to the pressure of a CEO who was delivering the cross platform idea, but was careless in introducing it.

W8 (for lack of a better term), is failing due to general consumer ignorance, and dismal MS marketing and basic instruction. It is most certaintly not an issue with W8 itself.

revelations
04-22-2013, 06:59 PM
Metro is idiotic on anything other than a touch screen.

For me W8, works best with a classic shell hack.

firebane
04-22-2013, 07:01 PM
Win8? Tablet OS.

Stick with 7 unless they bring out Win 8.1

SportEL
04-22-2013, 07:02 PM
Download Start8. It brings back the old familiar Windows 7 interface. I couldn't get used to Metro.

ExtraSlow
04-22-2013, 07:03 PM
Originally posted by revelations