PDA

View Full Version : Best Solution for Mowing 20 Acres?

turbotrip
05-26-2013, 09:41 PM
I need your help figuring out the best solution for mowing 20 acres of land in Bearspaw in the NW. Its just wild vegetation until the land will be developed in 3-4 years, but the weeds get pretty wild. It costs around $3k to cut it every time right now and I'm looking for the cheapest/best solution.

Solution A: Buy a new tractor and pay some kid $15/hr to ride it around

Solution B: Buy a used tractor and pay some kid $15/hr to ride it around

Solution C: Find a cheaper person/company than the current one to mow it

Since I have no experience with this kind of stuff (tractors/acreages) I was hoping for some advice.

For new tractors here is what someone recommended:
1: Zero turn, commercial, 72"cut, price $ 16,255
2: Tractor with tow behind 72"cut lawn mower ( tractor can be used separately with loader (price not included) for snow removal $ 21,700
3: Commercial Lawn Mower Tractor (Home depot or Canadian tire lawn mower style), 60"cut, (tractor can be used separately with loader (price not included) for snow removal $14,214.

Where would I look to find a used version of something similar to these? Or is it a better idea to just buy one of these new (maintenance)? Or any recommendations for someone who will cut it for cheaper?

thanks

FraserB
05-26-2013, 10:08 PM
If the land is going to be developed, can it be assumed that it will be striped down to bare earth when the time comes?

If so, have you looked at the cost of the clearing of 3-4 years of growth at the time of development vs. constantly mowing it?

As for used tractors/mowers, Heavy Equipment Trader might be a place to start.

sxtasy
05-26-2013, 10:13 PM
http://endtimeinfo.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/Monsanto-Roundup.jpg
Monsanto style

heavyfuel
05-26-2013, 10:23 PM