PDA

View Full Version : Help With Picking The Proper Amp

Mtt40023
06-10-2013, 08:06 PM
Ok, So I'm Quite New To Picking The Right Audio System For My Truck, Just Curious To Your Opinions On What Amp I Should Use With This Setup.

- Rockford Fosgate R2SD4-12 12" Prime R2 Dual 4 Ohm Shallow Subwoofer with 500 Watt Peak / 250 Watt RMS

- Pyle PL573BL 5x7/6x8" 600 Watts 3-Way Car Speakers

150 Watts Rms (300 Watt per 2 Pairs) (Using 2 Pairs, 4 Total)

And I Dont Think The Deck Would Matter But,

Kenwood KDC-MP345U In-Dash CD/MP3/WMA/iPod Receiver with USB/Aux Input

4 x 50 Watts maximum power; dual 2V RCA preamp outputs with low pass filter, rear/sub switch

Any Input Would Be Greatly Appreciated.

Graham_A_M
06-19-2013, 09:33 PM
Id pass entirely on those Pyle speakers first off. It may as well be "Pyle of horseshit". 150 watts RMS per speaker?
:rofl:

Oh okie dokie. If I were to put true 150watts RMS of *ACTUAL* power into one of those, it would last about 10-20 seconds (max) before the voice coil in the speaker starts to smoke from being overloaded, then the speaker would die a miserable death shortly after.
But thats just typical Pyle. Their amps are the same way, they put out shit power, so to use Pyle speakers along with a Pyle amp that would put out next to nowhere near its supposedly rated power, would work out brilliantly. Since (lets say a very well matched amp) would be putting out about 20-50watts RMS of REAL power, (but saying its really putting out 150). That kind of power going into those Pyle speakers would make sense. Problem is, Pyle amps are even worse then their speakers.

I'd avoid anything by that company entirely. :banghead: Its utter garbage.

You may want to take a good look at Lanzar speakers. Back when I used to work in the audio industry, their higher end lines were *quite* decent for the money.
You can get them on ebay for a decent price.