PDA

View Full Version : HELP for a new(ish) BComm grad?

Brendork
06-17-2013, 07:12 PM
Hey everybody,

I have a bit of a dilemma... I graduated at the end of last year with a BComm degree in Marketing from the U of C and have since finished off a Public Relations Certificate at Mount Royal as well. I'm having a hell of a time trying to find a decent job anywhere.

Right now I'm working at a bank so I actually have (a bit of) cash coming in but it really isn't where I want to be. Anyone have any advice on where I could have a bit more success with my applications? It feels like you have to know someone at any of the big O&G companies in order to even get an interview. I am obviously interested in marketing, but I would definitely try something like procurement or an entry-level analyst type of role as well. Right now I just need to get a start somewhere and I'm having trouble finding a place that doesn't want 2+ years of experience..

Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated! (besides going back to school to take engineering...):thumbsdow

themack89
06-17-2013, 09:23 PM
Have you tried pipeline companies

ExtraSlow
06-17-2013, 10:07 PM
Maybe it's just me, but I don't see how that Bcomm/marketing/public relations combo qualifies you for any specific field.

themack89
06-17-2013, 10:20 PM
Originally posted by ExtraSlow
Maybe it's just me, but I don't see how that Bcomm/marketing/public relations combo qualifies you for any specific field.

I agree with this. But I think the guy just needs an interview and he would get something, assuming there aren't technical questions. From my experience, marketing majors tend to be liberal/artsy and good with people, this in and of itself may be enough to get in the door.

Use your marketing cunning--re-vamp your resume and how you're applying and just get interviews.

AndyL
06-17-2013, 11:02 PM
Just a crazy thought... go out and get the experience :D wasn't there internships to be had in bcomm?