PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Premier Help

Ekliptix
02-21-2004, 06:53 PM
I'm a noob at this.

I'm done using Windows Movie Maker and I'm trying to capture something off the camera using the Premier 6.

The problem is that I can't see any way of capturing method on the screen.

Adobe's help site says I'm supposed to see a "Movie Capture window" but I can't find this anywhere.

Are there certain settings I'm supposed to change from the time that I open the program?

Please help.

nismodrifter
02-21-2004, 06:59 PM
I could never figure out how to capture video in premier either...too confusing IMO (it's either too confusing or I was too lazy to figure it out the first time I used it :D)

here's what I do:
-plug in camera using firewire......built in microsoft video shit will automatically start and ask me what I want to do with the video
- I set the quality to DV (highest quality..) and then capture the video to a location on my HD in .avi format

then I open premiere and import that captured video file and begin editing...

hope that helps you out:)

Ekliptix
02-21-2004, 07:14 PM
Alright, but with a maximim capture size of 720 x 480 at 30fps when taking the video off the camera in the DV-AVI format that you mentioned, are you not worried about the possability to get a higher quality rip from Premier?

The only reason I didn't want to do what you do is because 1) it takes up huge HD space, and 2) i thought I could get more then 720x480 if ripping from Premier.

Thanks for the info.

Khyron
02-22-2004, 12:20 PM
File-> Capture -> Movie Capture.

However, premiere is very picky about which cameras it will import from natively. There's a list on the adobe web site somewhere.

Khyron

DJ Lazy
02-24-2004, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by nismodrifter
I could never figure out how to capture video in premier either...too confusing IMO (it's either too confusing or I was too lazy to figure it out the first time I used it :D)

here's what I do: