PDA

View Full Version : Buying a car that is currently being leased

Street_Soldier
06-29-2013, 06:05 PM
So I want to purchase a car from a private seller who is currently leasing the car.

The car has a lein on it from TOYOTA CREDIT CANADA INC. since its currently under a lease.

The seller wants to buy out the car from Toyota and sell it to me right away.

I'm a total noob at this and it sounds pretty legit to me. What actions can I take to ensure that car is being bought out and the lein is removed prior to me purchasing the car? Are there any scams that start out like this?

Thanks

rage2
06-29-2013, 06:12 PM
Go with the owner to Toyota, figure out the buyut amount, buy out the car from Toyota, and either you cut the guy a check or the other way around to cover the difference.

Street_Soldier
06-29-2013, 06:22 PM
Is there any documentation I should request saying that the cars been bought out incase they forget to remove the lein?

max_boost
06-29-2013, 06:23 PM
Originally posted by rage2
Go with the owner to Toyota, figure out the buyut amount, buy out the car from Toyota, and either you cut the guy a check or the other way around to cover the difference. I've sold all my leased cars this way or the other times the buyer trusts me because of my Beyond rep (Oh you are max_boost on Beyond, No problem) and just cuts the check directly to me.

rage2
06-29-2013, 06:44 PM
Originally posted by Street_Soldier
Is there any documentation I should request saying that the cars been bought out incase they forget to remove the lein?
Uhh, ya, the buyout documents? lol

schocker
06-29-2013, 06:52 PM
Originally posted by max_boost
I've sold all my leased cars this way or the other times the buyer trusts me because of my Beyond rep (Oh you are max_boost on Beyond, No problem) and just cuts the check directly to me.
Oh yeah, what about this!

ibcinya (23) Seller Negative 04/20/08 got upset cause my girl friend didnt like what he was selling

TomcoPDR
06-30-2013, 02:45 AM